Jump to content

Welcome to Rune Tips, the first ever RuneScape help site. We aim to offer skill guides, quest guides, maps, calculators, informative databases, tips, and much more to help you get the most from the Massive Online Adventure Game, RuneScape, by Jagex Ltd © 2009.

Report Ad

Welcome to Forum.Tip.It
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Tips for Making Runescape run faster?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1
firekeeper41
[ Display Name History ]

firekeeper41

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Somewhere....
  • Joined:30 October 2005
Does anyone have any tips for how to make Runescape run faster and more efficient? I'm using a Win98 computer, with 166MHz and 128 RAM.



I know it's a slow comp, so that might be the reason it's running slow, but if anyone has any tips they would be most appriciated.







Thanks.

#2
Mercifull
[ Display Name History ]

Mercifull

    Post Junkie

  • Members
  • 16,076 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In a house where everything is coated in cat fur
  • Joined:18 June 2004
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Mercifull
  • Clan:Tip.It
Sorry to break it to you but theres really not much you can do with a spec that low to improve your Runescape experience

Posted Image
Mercifull <3 Suzi

"We don't want players to be able to buy their way to success in RuneScape. If we let players start doing this, it devalues RuneScape for others. We feel your status in real-life shouldn't affect your ability to be successful in RuneScape" Jagex 01/04/01 - 02/03/12

#3
crossfire39
[ Display Name History ]

crossfire39

    Scorpion Pit

  • Members
  • 526 posts
  • Location:California DustDevilsKilled-19,326
  • Joined:29 August 2004
Well when you are on f2p, when an ad comes up, right click on it, and click Play, Loop, and then zoom in a few times. This will make it run a little bit faster. I also notived that firefox also uses less system resources.. so you could try using it.







Worse comes to worse buy some ram on ebay lol.
Posted Image
.:: RSC Product ::.
.:: 116 Combat ::.
.:: 1777 Overall ::.
.:: Biggest Single Drop Log Ever ::.

#4
bjbj1991
[ Display Name History ]

bjbj1991

    Skeleton Shield

  • Members
  • 1,248 posts
  • Location:California
  • Joined:15 June 2005
firefox has addblock so you can block most of the adds on runescape

#5
jammy316
[ Display Name History ]

jammy316

    Skeleton Shield

  • Members
  • 1,245 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:England.
  • Joined:18 June 2004
  • RuneScape Status:None

Does anyone have any tips for how to make Runescape run faster and more efficient? I'm using a Win98 computer, with 166MHz and 128 RAM.



I know it's a slow comp, so that might be the reason it's running slow, but if anyone has any tips they would be most appriciated.







Thanks.








166 Mhz and 128 Ram, thas your problem, 116 Mhz is donkeys years old for a processer, atm mines out of date and its at 2.6Ghz Pent 4.







Get a new PC :P.

#6
PNK99
[ Display Name History ]

PNK99

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • Joined:7 November 2005
heres a tip: buy a new computer, seriously.

#7
iireaperii
[ Display Name History ]

iireaperii

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Joined:9 November 2005
get a new pc :)

#8
Phil
[ Display Name History ]

Phil

    Soca Warrior

  • Members
  • 6,548 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Joined:18 June 2004
  • RuneScape Status:None
Don't run anything else while trying to play rs...







...or just upgrade your system :)
Posted Image

#9
fangyongren
[ Display Name History ]

fangyongren

    Spider Egg

  • Members
  • 65 posts
  • Joined:22 October 2005
shot do not buy a new PC, build a new one. You can proably take parts from your old one to put into a new one. Mabye get some cheap little mobo that supports some 600 mhz computer and really mabye 128 megs of ram. Mabye look up your mobo and see if you can get a faster proceceser in there and mabye some more ram. But really you do not need it too much I do not think. What is your connection speed. I would not blame the computer first mabye your network speed. At the college it runs fine with 300 mhz 64 meg ram computers. (Ack what kind of college is this with those computer haha).







Other things you can do with windows is shutdown all services that may be un nessecary. Do Windows Key + R and do Msconfig and look at what is booting up and what services your running if it looks like you do not need it then take it off. I would close all programs besides your Web Browser. And no matter what you will proably have lagg [bleep]es in crowaded areas nothing can help that. So look for low servers and that type of thing and avoid big time gathering areas on full servers.

#10
Person_1029
[ Display Name History ]

Person_1029

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Location:COMPUTER...
  • Joined:3 October 2005
i... refuse to be a tech geek lol... just get a new comp...

#11
Red_Tanya
[ Display Name History ]

Red_Tanya

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 3,831 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:23 May 2004
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Red Tanya
If you don't upgrade (best solution), your options are limited.







Use the RS downloadable client



Run low-detail



No chat programs loaded or running



No browsers loaded up



Try to have absolutely nothing else running at all, just the game itself







That's the best I can offer in your situation.
Posted Image

"America will never seek a permission slip to defend the security of our people."
-George W. Bush


#12
greenslime89
[ Display Name History ]

greenslime89

    Dark Wizard Robe

  • Members
  • 877 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Scotland
  • Joined:27 October 2005
  • RuneScape Status:None
  • RSN:Amourtrimmer
  • RSN2:Grats Rip
maybe get broadband if you dont already? but make sure your system will accept the broadband

#13
weezcake
[ Display Name History ]

weezcake

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,069 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Davis, CA
  • Joined:24 May 2004
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:weezcake
Don't bump old topics please. And broadband wont help.
==================================

Retired tip.it moderator.

Currently: teaching and inspiring young minds in Vacaville, CA!

#14
geowasp
[ Display Name History ]

geowasp

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Colorado
  • Joined:4 July 2004
dude this guy has a 166Mhz comp, the thingi s probably like 16bit or 8 bit he can't even run high detail.... Buying ram for a antique like that probably costs couple hund since u have to custom order.... Nothing u can do m8, buy one of those 400 dollar emachines or dell, they can run simple Java programs like rs just fine.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users