It took me a year to get it....

It took me a year to get it...

Have you ever had a joke that took you a while to get? Its awkward and makes you seem slow. One time, it took me over a year to get a joke. I was told that joke a dozen times during that year, and each time it flew right over my head. Let's start at the beginning.

I started playing RuneScape December 20th 2005. I remember the exact date because it was the day that my high school let out for winter vacation. It was good times. It took me about an hour to think up my name, and another hour to do the tutorial. I thought I trade by dropping items on the ground for others to pick up, and I was afraid of the giant spiders around Lumbridge.

One day, by chance, I wandered into Draynor Village and spoke with Ned. He agreed me to make me some rope in exchange for 3 balls of wool. I didn't know what rope was for, but I wanted it. Bad. I spent several hours finding my way back to Lumbridge, sheered some sheep, made the balls of wool, and was never able to find Ned again.

After I got my bearings, I started woodcutting. I loved it and got all my money from it. I got my woodcutting up to 60 and started cutting yews. World 57 Edgeville was my home. I became a member in the summer of '06, just during my vacation from school. At some point during that summer I was wandering around Yanille. I happened across this:

[hide=Big ol image]2nvv49f.png[/hide]

I examine everything I come across, so needless to say I examined that thing. I examined it good. An Ogre Standard: "Not very high."

I didn't get it.

I did come up with some wild theories though. Ogres are tall, yet the standard is "not very high." Did the ogres not make their own standards? Did they steal someone else's standards? Were ogres once short?! Over the next year I passed by that standard frequently, examining it each time, never getting it. Then one day, in autumn of '07, I passed by it and examined it as usual.

An Ogre Standard: "Not very high."

Oh.