Jump to content

Welcome to Rune Tips, the first ever RuneScape help site. We aim to offer skill guides, quest guides, maps, calculators, informative databases, tips, and much more to help you get the most from the Massive Online Adventure Game, RuneScape, by Jagex Ltd © 2009.

Report Ad

Welcome to Forum.Tip.It
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Windows 7 beta


  • Please log in to reply
151 replies to this topic

Poll: Poll (0 member(s) have cast votes)

Vote Guests cannot vote

#121
Sbrideau
[ Display Name History ]

Sbrideau

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,387 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint-Georges, Québec, Canada (very close to the Maine border)
  • Joined:3 September 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Sbr

^ Do like me and get two keys. (I plan a dual boot/virtual machine) Just delete all cookies from Microsoft in between and use two different emails. ;)


Well, like I said, I don't know if I'll dual boot, since even if I have a lot of free hard drive space, On my previous installation I didn't go on the Windows 7 much, I stayed on Vista. That's the reason I may just run it on VBox this time, but still, it's going to be the 64bit version, not the 32.

#122
Jernlov
[ Display Name History ]

Jernlov

    Black Knight Trainer

  • Members
  • 3,171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:17 June 2008
  • RuneScape Status:None
http://gizmodo.com/5... ... expiration



Retail copies will probably be around by then though.

#123
Latinoking
[ Display Name History ]

Latinoking

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 3,783 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States of America
  • Joined:20 August 2006
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Latinoking90

http://gizmodo.com/5240677/windows-7-rc1-will-auto-shut-down-every-two-hours-months-before-expiration



Retail copies will probably be around by then though.




Still quite annoying, 2 hours up? Shut down time. :wall:

#124
noble_aloof
[ Display Name History ]

noble_aloof

    Varrock Guard

  • Members
  • 1,326 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Dunder mifflin
  • Joined:27 January 2008
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Noble Aloof
  • Clan:Fenghahe's Elite Investing Guild
my friend installed it last night. i was over his house for several hours.



(being a die-hard xp guy)

i was very, very impressed with it.

very fast, little clutter, still customizable, very compatible. i think its time for me to upgrade



reading the other posts- i beleive my friend was dual booting.. i might do the same once i get some more ram.
Staking: 4+ mil
Current Status: Training defense

#125
Sbrideau
[ Display Name History ]

Sbrideau

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,387 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint-Georges, Québec, Canada (very close to the Maine border)
  • Joined:3 September 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Sbr
Vista x64 is much faster than Windows 7 Beta x64 for me. I will see if it's still the case with Windows 7 RC - I will probably dual boot.



Just saying, no need to quote me on that.

#126
Mylez
[ Display Name History ]

Mylez

    Hobgoblin Killer

  • Members
  • 1,743 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester
  • Joined:14 January 2007
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Dyze
Any chance someone could run me through using Gparted-live-0.4.4-1?



I've just downloaded it, have about 70-80GB free (sould like to partition 40 to install Win7) and have no idea what to do. I'm using XPSP3 btw. Thanks!! :<img src=:' />



EDIT: Ohhhhh, it's an ISO, ie, used like a boot-disk.

Makes sense now, job for the weekend I think :D

#127
Jernlov
[ Display Name History ]

Jernlov

    Black Knight Trainer

  • Members
  • 3,171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:17 June 2008
  • RuneScape Status:None

Any chance someone could run me through using Gparted-live-0.4.4-1?



I've just downloaded it, have about 70-80GB free (sould like to partition 40 to install Win7) and have no idea what to do. I'm using XPSP3 btw. Thanks!! :<img src=:' />



EDIT: Ohhhhh, it's an ISO, ie, used like a boot-disk.

Makes sense now, job for the weekend I think :D

Yeah. GParted is as simple as boot up, resize, reboot, install.

#128
Mylez
[ Display Name History ]

Mylez

    Hobgoblin Killer

  • Members
  • 1,743 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester
  • Joined:14 January 2007
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Dyze
And it will simply partition 40GB of my existing 160GB C drive enabling me to install another OS?

Also, how do I dual boot?



Thanks btw! :)

#129
Laura
[ Display Name History ]

Laura

    Cor Aut Mors

  • Members
  • 3,425 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Home is where the Army sends you.
  • Joined:18 July 2007
  • RuneScape Status:None
Yup downloaded the RC last night. So far so good. I have only experienced a few bugs within IE, but I suppose that is to be expected. However, my disk read/ write decreased largely versus OS X and Linux.



And it will simply partition 40GB of my existing 160GB C drive enabling me to install another OS?

Also, how do I dual boot?



Thanks btw! :)




How do I use it, while keeping my normal vista OS safe and working, can I dual boot?

Yes, just partion your HD.




Sorry for being a lil stupid, but how?



Normally I'm pretty good with computers, though never dual booted before. It's a learning experience for me.


Alright, open up Control Panel and then Administrative Tools and then computer Management. On the list to the left, you'll see a subsection called "Storage" click on that and then Disk Management. More than likely you'll either have two or one disk partions already there. So, right click on the larger partion (OS), it might be labeld as C: and hit "shrink volume." A query will come up, and tell you how much space you can partion. You're going to need at least 30GB of space, so if you can't shrink it by that much, don't try to install W7. Once you shrink it, another partion will be labeled "unallocated," right click on that partion and hit "New Simple Volume." Just make sure you're formating the maximum space on that partion, which should be there by default. And make sure it's NTFS(for W7). You've now partioned and formated a separate drive in Windows. Now all you have to do is insert the Windows 7 CD and click on the new drive you just made. MAKE SURE IT'S THE DRIVE YOU JUST MADE, OR YOU WILL ERASE OR UPGRADE YOUR CURRENT VERSION OF WINDOWS.



(Oh and my partion was "Free Space" not "Unallocated" because I just deleted the existing format, so don't worry if yours doesn't look exactly like that.


Posted Image

#130
Mylez
[ Display Name History ]

Mylez

    Hobgoblin Killer

  • Members
  • 1,743 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester
  • Joined:14 January 2007
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Dyze
Im on XP, and more unsure of how to dual-boot :P

Is it done in the bios?

#131
Jernlov
[ Display Name History ]

Jernlov

    Black Knight Trainer

  • Members
  • 3,171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:17 June 2008
  • RuneScape Status:None

And it will simply partition 40GB of my existing 160GB C drive enabling me to install another OS?

Also, how do I dual boot?



Thanks btw! :)

Well, you'll get an option to shrink your current partition in GParted. After shrinking, format the unallocated space to NTFS, and when you install Windows 7, select the newly-created partition to install into.



Simple as that. (:



Also, GParted is far less cumbersome than using computer management in my experience.

#132
Mylez
[ Display Name History ]

Mylez

    Hobgoblin Killer

  • Members
  • 1,743 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester
  • Joined:14 January 2007
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Dyze
Ok thanks, but what about when I turn my PC on, do I get given the option to load up XP or Win7?

#133
Jernlov
[ Display Name History ]

Jernlov

    Black Knight Trainer

  • Members
  • 3,171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:17 June 2008
  • RuneScape Status:None

Ok thanks, but what about when I turn my PC on, do I get given the option to load up XP or Win7?

Indeed you do. Windows installs its own bootloader and you're given a choice of "Earlier Version of Windows" or "Windows 7".



Just be forewarned - you will most likely encounter Chkdsk when you boot into XP after resizing. Don't panic; just let it run its cause and you'll be using XP again after a reboot.

#134
Sbrideau
[ Display Name History ]

Sbrideau

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,387 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint-Georges, Québec, Canada (very close to the Maine border)
  • Joined:3 September 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Sbr
It is also good to make sure XP works good after resizing before installing the new OS on the new Partition, so if it doesn'T work, you know you shrinked it too much.

#135
Mylez
[ Display Name History ]

Mylez

    Hobgoblin Killer

  • Members
  • 1,743 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester
  • Joined:14 January 2007
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Dyze
Alright thanks, decided to DL the x64 version before going ahead with this anyway. Might aswell since I've got a fairly high-spec PC.

Microsoft download manager is great, much better than using a program like µtorrent! :D

#136
Sbrideau
[ Display Name History ]

Sbrideau

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,387 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint-Georges, Québec, Canada (very close to the Maine border)
  • Joined:3 September 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Sbr
For the beta it wasn't even compatible with Firefox lol. Nice to see this time they used a Java one.

#137
dave0293
[ Display Name History ]

dave0293

    Scorpion Pit

  • Members
  • 572 posts
  • Location:Maine
  • Joined:25 August 2006

For the beta it wasn't even compatible with Firefox lol. Nice to see this time they used a Java one.


I was using opera and got all scared when it wasn't working. Switched to Firefox and voila. :lol: The beta was fun to dual boot, can't wait to see what the rc is like.

#138
dsavi
[ Display Name History ]

dsavi

    Dragon Slayer

  • Members
  • 6,869 posts
  • Joined:30 July 2006

For the beta it wasn't even compatible with Firefox lol. Nice to see this time they used a Java one.


I used FF on the beta... Was one of the first things I installed actually.

C2b6gs7.png


#139
Jernlov
[ Display Name History ]

Jernlov

    Black Knight Trainer

  • Members
  • 3,171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:17 June 2008
  • RuneScape Status:None

For the beta it wasn't even compatible with Firefox lol. Nice to see this time they used a Java one.


I used FF on the beta... Was one of the first things I installed actually.

He was talking about the download manager that MS used for the beta, heh.

#140
dsavi
[ Display Name History ]

dsavi

    Dragon Slayer

  • Members
  • 6,869 posts
  • Joined:30 July 2006
Oh. :P



"Preparing your desktop..." This is taking forever. Just show me the stupid OS. Ubuntu would finish in less than an hour virtualized.

C2b6gs7.png





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users