Jump to content

Welcome to Rune Tips, the first ever RuneScape help site. We aim to offer skill guides, quest guides, maps, calculators, informative databases, tips, and much more to help you get the most from the Massive Online Adventure Game, RuneScape, by Jagex Ltd © 2009.

Report Ad

Welcome to Forum.Tip.It
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

How to use Google Docs to extract GE prices ~By Brainymidget


  • Please log in to reply
116 replies to this topic

#101
Kaphias
[ Display Name History ]

Kaphias

    FL380

  • Members
  • 3,399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Alaska
  • Joined:9 October 2006
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Matt91493

So far my spreadsheet for farming is coming along great, however, I'm having the issue that googledocs likes to return things back with letters (ie. lantadyme seed, comes back as 32.1k, rather than 32100), which makes them unusable in calculations.

How can I make it so googledocs understands "k" to mean "1000"?

EDIT: my problem is the same as Ickdeep's.

You can see how I've done it on my Farming sheet here, bottom left.
EDIT: or even better
=if(iferror(find("m",B21),false),left(B21,find("m",B21)-1)*1000000,if(iferror(find("k",B21),false),left(B21,find("k",B21)-1)*1000,B21))
where "B21" is the import cell.

Edited by Kaphias, 13 June 2010 - 08:19 PM.

Posted Image
8,325th to 99 Firemaking 3/9/08 | 44,811th to 99 Cooking 7/16/08
4,968th to 99 Farming 10/9/09 | Runescaper August 2005-March 2010
Tip.it Mod Feb. 2008-Sep. 2008 | Tip.it Crew Sep. 2008-Nov. 2009

#102
Capt_Davy
[ Display Name History ]

Capt_Davy

    Goblin Armour

  • Members
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Glielnor
  • Joined:8 March 2007
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Capt Davy
Thank you, Kaphias! I've just tweaked it a bit, and it works for my spreadsheet! :thumbsup:

Aaaahhhh....time to redo it another 5 times :)

If anyone's interested, I'll share it as soon as I finish it. (it basically just has the top 5 herbs to plant for profit, and torstol, assuming Scroll of Life)

EDIT: here's the link, if anyone's interested (to be honest, I'd be surprised, seeing at how effective Troacctid's sheet is)

https://spreadsheets...djWDhiQ1E&hl=en
Posted Image Posted Image

#103
teuneboon
[ Display Name History ]

teuneboon

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Joined:28 February 2007
I tried hard, but I just keep getting #Error(Parse Error). This is the code I use:
=Index(ImportHtml(Concat("http://itemdb-rs.runescape.com/results.ws?query=",A2), "table", 2),2,3)

The spreadsheet is:
http://spreadsheets....authkey=CLqMvRY
Check column J, the error is there. I used Chrome on Ubuntu to create this, but it should work, since when I view other spreadsheets that use this method it also works.

For those who want to know what this is about: it will be my Merchanting Log, the first entry is fake by the way ;)
Posted Image

#104
Kaphias
[ Display Name History ]

Kaphias

    FL380

  • Members
  • 3,399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Alaska
  • Joined:9 October 2006
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Matt91493

I tried hard, but I just keep getting #Error(Parse Error). This is the code I use:

=Index(ImportHtml(Concat("http://itemdb-rs.runescape.com/results.ws?query=",A2), "table", 2),2,3)

The spreadsheet is:
http://spreadsheets....authkey=CLqMvRY
Check column J, the error is there. I used Chrome on Ubuntu to create this, but it should work, since when I view other spreadsheets that use this method it also works.

For those who want to know what this is about: it will be my Merchanting Log, the first entry is fake by the way ;)

Just tried your code on my sheet and it worked fine. I can't imagine browser/OS would make a difference. One thing I would try: make a new sheet (in the same doc) and try to get it working there, without all the other things you have on your current sheet. Just "Dark Bow" and your code. You may need to reload the sheet or something to get it to work, though I hardy ever find that to be the case.
Posted Image
8,325th to 99 Firemaking 3/9/08 | 44,811th to 99 Cooking 7/16/08
4,968th to 99 Farming 10/9/09 | Runescaper August 2005-March 2010
Tip.it Mod Feb. 2008-Sep. 2008 | Tip.it Crew Sep. 2008-Nov. 2009

#105
teuneboon
[ Display Name History ]

teuneboon

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Joined:28 February 2007


I tried hard, but I just keep getting #Error(Parse Error). This is the code I use:

=Index(ImportHtml(Concat("http://itemdb-rs.runescape.com/results.ws?query=",A2), "table", 2),2,3)

The spreadsheet is:
http://spreadsheets....authkey=CLqMvRY
Check column J, the error is there. I used Chrome on Ubuntu to create this, but it should work, since when I view other spreadsheets that use this method it also works.

For those who want to know what this is about: it will be my Merchanting Log, the first entry is fake by the way ;)

Just tried your code on my sheet and it worked fine. I can't imagine browser/OS would make a difference. One thing I would try: make a new sheet (in the same doc) and try to get it working there, without all the other things you have on your current sheet. Just "Dark Bow" and your code. You may need to reload the sheet or something to get it to work, though I hardy ever find that to be the case.

I tried it in all different browsers and on windows too. Still can't get it to work. This is just plain weird XD
Posted Image

#106
Kaphias
[ Display Name History ]

Kaphias

    FL380

  • Members
  • 3,399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Alaska
  • Joined:9 October 2006
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Matt91493



I tried hard, but I just keep getting #Error(Parse Error). This is the code I use:

=Index(ImportHtml(Concat("http://itemdb-rs.runescape.com/results.ws?query=",A2), "table", 2),2,3)

The spreadsheet is:
http://spreadsheets....authkey=CLqMvRY
Check column J, the error is there. I used Chrome on Ubuntu to create this, but it should work, since when I view other spreadsheets that use this method it also works.

For those who want to know what this is about: it will be my Merchanting Log, the first entry is fake by the way ;)

Just tried your code on my sheet and it worked fine. I can't imagine browser/OS would make a difference. One thing I would try: make a new sheet (in the same doc) and try to get it working there, without all the other things you have on your current sheet. Just "Dark Bow" and your code. You may need to reload the sheet or something to get it to work, though I hardy ever find that to be the case.

I tried it in all different browsers and on windows too. Still can't get it to work. This is just plain weird XD

Yeah, very odd. Did you try it on a new sheet like I said above?
Posted Image
8,325th to 99 Firemaking 3/9/08 | 44,811th to 99 Cooking 7/16/08
4,968th to 99 Farming 10/9/09 | Runescaper August 2005-March 2010
Tip.it Mod Feb. 2008-Sep. 2008 | Tip.it Crew Sep. 2008-Nov. 2009

#107
teuneboon
[ Display Name History ]

teuneboon

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Joined:28 February 2007




I tried hard, but I just keep getting #Error(Parse Error). This is the code I use:

=Index(ImportHtml(Concat("http://itemdb-rs.runescape.com/results.ws?query=",A2), "table", 2),2,3)

The spreadsheet is:
http://spreadsheets....authkey=CLqMvRY
Check column J, the error is there. I used Chrome on Ubuntu to create this, but it should work, since when I view other spreadsheets that use this method it also works.

For those who want to know what this is about: it will be my Merchanting Log, the first entry is fake by the way ;)

Just tried your code on my sheet and it worked fine. I can't imagine browser/OS would make a difference. One thing I would try: make a new sheet (in the same doc) and try to get it working there, without all the other things you have on your current sheet. Just "Dark Bow" and your code. You may need to reload the sheet or something to get it to work, though I hardy ever find that to be the case.

I tried it in all different browsers and on windows too. Still can't get it to work. This is just plain weird XD

Yeah, very odd. Did you try it on a new sheet like I said above?

Yes I did, also tried it on different pcs XD
Posted Image

#108
Kaphias
[ Display Name History ]

Kaphias

    FL380

  • Members
  • 3,399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Alaska
  • Joined:9 October 2006
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Matt91493

Yes I did, also tried it on different pcs XD

Well you got me, I'm stumped. I'd try PMing Morionic, he's pretty good at sheets and may have an idea.
Posted Image
8,325th to 99 Firemaking 3/9/08 | 44,811th to 99 Cooking 7/16/08
4,968th to 99 Farming 10/9/09 | Runescaper August 2005-March 2010
Tip.it Mod Feb. 2008-Sep. 2008 | Tip.it Crew Sep. 2008-Nov. 2009

#109
Grimy_Bunyip
[ Display Name History ]

Grimy_Bunyip

    Black Knight Trainer

  • Members
  • 3,066 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Xp-Waste
  • Joined:26 November 2008
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Grimy Bunyip
  • Clan:Dungeonsweepers


Yes I did, also tried it on different pcs XD

Well you got me, I'm stumped. I'd try PMing Morionic, he's pretty good at sheets and may have an idea.

nope, I'm stumped too. Your code is correct. I even tried downloading your spreadsheet, pasting my code into it, and it still doesn't work.
So clearly there's something wrong with your spreadsheet itself, since the rest of mine is fine.

Try making a new spreadsheet
If that doesn't work, click my siggy, go to the sample spreadsheet, copy it to your account, delete everything on my spreadsheet
then recreate your spreadsheet from scratch again.
Posted Image

#110
JohnTheCop
[ Display Name History ]

JohnTheCop

    Bear Fur

  • Members
  • 462 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:4 July 2010
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Lawl Gl Bro
  • RSN2:TacoCarpet
  • Clan:Currently Rouge
great guide i refrence it every time i use google docs :D
"Happiness depends more on the inward disposition of mind than on outward circumstances."
Benjamin Franklin

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."

Albert Einstein






Posted Image

Posted Image


#111
sven_bohikus
[ Display Name History ]

sven_bohikus

    Rat Meat

  • Members
  • 33 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:25 February 2007
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Svenne
  • RSN2:d4damager
  • Clan:Supreme Skillers



Yes I did, also tried it on different pcs XD

Well you got me, I'm stumped. I'd try PMing Morionic, he's pretty good at sheets and may have an idea.

nope, I'm stumped too. Your code is correct. I even tried downloading your spreadsheet, pasting my code into it, and it still doesn't work.
So clearly there's something wrong with your spreadsheet itself, since the rest of mine is fine.

Try making a new spreadsheet
If that doesn't work, click my siggy, go to the sample spreadsheet, copy it to your account, delete everything on my spreadsheet
then recreate your spreadsheet from scratch again.

Hi again guys - I think I might have a solution to your problem. It depends on the locate that the google account was created in. Sometimes instead of commas to parse elements in formulas you need to use semicolons. This is not clearly documented in the GoogleDocs Docs - but I ran into this one time before with someone trying to use my spreadsheets.

Basically, in some countries comma is used as a decimal point - therefore it cant be used to parse elements in formulae. Replace all your comma with semicolons and see what happens.

Cheers!

#14340th to 99 magic!! w000t

#112
VonMedo
[ Display Name History ]

VonMedo

    Bear Fur

  • Members
  • 337 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:12 January 2010
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Medo Z G
It's not working anymore!!!!!!!

M3DO.png

Mamiću odlazi!


#113
Grimy_Bunyip
[ Display Name History ]

Grimy_Bunyip

    Black Knight Trainer

  • Members
  • 3,066 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Xp-Waste
  • Joined:26 November 2008
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Grimy Bunyip
  • Clan:Dungeonsweepers

It's not working anymore!!!!!!!

Grimy bunyip to the rescue!

change the 2 after "table" to a 1 and u'll be good to go
=Index(ImportHtml(CONCAT("http://itemdb-rs.runescape.com/results.ws?query=",INPUTCELL), "table", 1),2,3)

I personally prefer importing prices differently.
But I guess this method is quick and intuitive.
Posted Image

#114
VonMedo
[ Display Name History ]

VonMedo

    Bear Fur

  • Members
  • 337 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:12 January 2010
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Medo Z G


It's not working anymore!!!!!!!

Grimy bunyip to the rescue!

change the 2 after "table" to a 1 and u'll be good to go
=Index(ImportHtml(CONCAT("http://itemdb-rs.runescape.com/results.ws?query=",INPUTCELL), "table", 1),2,3)

I personally prefer importing prices differently.
But I guess this method is quick and intuitive.



YOU ARE THE BEST!

M3DO.png

Mamiću odlazi!


#115
diederik22
[ Display Name History ]

diederik22

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Holland
  • Joined:26 April 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:ir johannes

Today try to make some calculation sheets all worked well for me till i try 'k' and 'm' valued items.

 

I got the warning the the 10.0 value was text and couldn't be multiplied.

I made the m/k formula  a little bit more ugly, but it will work now.

 

=if(iferror(find("m";C3);false);VALUE(SUBSTITUTE(left(C3;find("m";C3)-1);".";","))*1000000;

  if(iferror(find("k";C3);false);VALUE(SUBSTITUTE(left(C3;find("k";C3)-1);".";","))*1000;VALUE(SUBSTITUTE(C3;",";"."))))


Diederik22

#116
Adam-
[ Display Name History ]

Adam-

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:15 November 2005
  • RSN:adamlion5

its pretty easy if you ask me



#117
demoner
[ Display Name History ]

demoner

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Joined:17 December 2006

2017/2018 UPDATE

 

Hello whoever stumbles across this. If you're like me, you've been stumbling around the internet looking for the valuable information that has been posted in this thread. Sadly, the compiled information is mostly out of date or way too complicated for a newbie like me to decimate.

 

Allow me to show a simple way to pull regularly updated GE prices from Tip.it into your Google Sheets doc.

 

1) Find an item you want on Tip.it's item pages, and copy the website URL. Here's an example https://www.tip.it/r...878-nature-rune

 

2) In your Google Sheets doc, click on the cell and input then hit enter: 

=IMPORTHTML("https://www.tip.it/runescape/items/view/1878-nature-rune","table", 3)

[Note: The quotation marks are necessary, you will get errors if you don't use them.]

 

 

It should look like this

 

ldDj6tr.jpg

 

 

 

3) Now all you have to do is use that same code in each cell you want a new item, just replace the URL 

 

 

That's it! This will update every day or so on it's own. It doesn't look like much but with a little formatting you can make it look good, like this:

 

WAkjd8q.jpg






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users