Does the internet change the way you act?

ShadowTheHedgehog

I've been browsing the internet and playing MMO's for the past several years and one thing that's always bugged me is the way people act over the internet. So I would like to know, do you or people you know act differently online than you do in person? And what do you think causes this change in behavior?

Any and all responses are welcome.

~TheBlastMage

theblastmage.pngtheblastmage.png

theblastmage.png

theblastmage.png

For the most part, I'm the same way online that I am IRL. Less swearing though. (For the record, I actually disprove of such "shock-and-awe" abruptness in actual discourse, but I tend to get frustrated, and all criticism of vulgarity abruptly becomes an embarrassing hypocrisy.)

"Those who give up their liberty for more security neither deserve liberty nor security."

Support transparency... and by extension, freedom and democracy.

No, I act the same on the internet as I do in person. I'm just as blunt, there's no question about it. There are times when I'm nicer on the internet than I am in person, but those are rare occurrences.

Also,

(For the record, I actually disprove of such "shock-and-awe" abruptness in actual discourse, but I tend to get frustrated, and all criticism of vulgarity abruptly becomes an embarrassing hypocrisy.)

I find it extremely hard to believe that you actually converse with people saying things like that.

Yes, definitely. I find it hard to believe that no one changes at all - the same holds true for letters, text messages, and telephones. Without face-to-face contact, we behave differently.

I do make a conscious effort not to be too different though.

polvCwJ.gif
"It's not a rest for me, it's a rest for the weights." - Dom Mazzetti

I swear more on the internet. Because it doesn't give any bad consequences compared to in real life. I only swear IRL if i hurt myself badly.

My lame drops:
6 Effigys
1 D Med - 1 D Dagger