Something to Think About

Sylpheed

Before this topic begins, I want to make one thing clear, I have been playing this game since 2003 so if you want to start throwing around the already irritating and annoying statement of "L0L n00b u d1nt ev3n play 1n teh dayz of teh old wildeh" turn around and exit the thread. Another thing I want to point out, I am 100% indifferent about whether this update goes ahead or not. I used to enjoy pking a lot in the old wildy and nothing is quite as fun as pking at the mage arena.

Anyway, the topic at hand, a lot of my friends (myself included) have yet to cast a vote (not like it matters) on whether to say yes or no, not because we hate wildy but because of this; relocating existing content. Here's a list of the majority of the updates that have been released since 2007 that relate to the wilderness. (If I forget any, please remind me)

- Spirit of Summer/Summers End - Corporeal Beast

- All Fired Up - Beacon Network - Inferno Adze

- The Temple at Senntisten - Ancient Curses

- Clan Wars

- Wilderness Volcano

- Defender of Varrock - Armoured Zombies

- Stealing Creation

- Chaos Tunnels - Bork

- Penguins

Theres probably some I missed, but heres the thing. Aside from having to relocate quest areas, which will disrupt the lore of certain quests (whether you care or not, this isn't just a trivial matter) This will be a massive undertaking on Jagex's part to relocate all this content. Aside from essentially having to create entirely new areas of the map to relocate such areas as the castle used in Temple at Senntisten, the ruined farm used in the Summer quests or the entire minigame area of Stealing Creation, this is going to take up a large portion of possibly the most valuable thing in the world; time.