Jump to content

Welcome to Rune Tips, the first ever RuneScape help site. We aim to offer skill guides, quest guides, maps, calculators, informative databases, tips, and much more to help you get the most from the Massive Online Adventure Game, RuneScape, by Jagex Ltd © 2009.

Report Ad

Welcome to Forum.Tip.It
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Technology Related Pictures


  • Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#41
OldJoe
[ Display Name History ]

OldJoe

    Moss Giant Whipper

  • Members
  • 2,922 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Suecia
  • Joined:2 January 2007
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Joedeby


text


No use of hasseling around with watercooling if you buy a cheap kit. Better to spend 50$ on a good fan instead. You need to spend quite a bit of money on watercooling for it to be useful.



I just want to get a watercooling system I can get my feet wet with(no pun intended). If all goes well I will look into a more higher quality system on my new build. Air cooling is only so good. You have to consider ambient temperature and the heat that your components put off.

Air cooling is sufficient for most tech guys(girls), just check whatever forum and most that have builds for even i.e. 1.5k€ don't even have watercooling. The noise level is the only thing that i'd see as an upside to a cheap H2O kit. I don't know what you consider a cheap watercooling kit, but take a random 100€ water-kit and test a 50€ heatsink(+fan..) and the values are very similar, the air cooling might even edge away in some cases. I stand by my comment that a quality watercooling kit is justifiable.

J'adore aussi le sexe et les snuff movies
Je trouve que ce sont des purs moments de vie
Je ne me reconnais plus dans les gens
Je suis juste un cas désespérant
Et comme personne ne viendra me réclamer
Je terminerai comme un objet retrouvé


#42
Will H
[ Display Name History ]

Will H

    Tea Connoisseur

  • Members
  • 5,195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Blighty
  • Joined:13 August 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Will Holmes
  • Clan:Clay Gods
I suppose a silent computer is very desirable. As I understand it, it's still necessary to remove the hot air from the radiator if you use water cooling, so you're back to a fan or two again. Still, if they're good fans, it's still pretty acceptable.

Ah, I don't know. My rig's totalled up eight fans now and it get really loud sometimes.

Late EDIT: Out of curiosity, how does a 4 monitor 2x2 system compare with 3 monitors in a row? Isn't it a bit awkward looking up as well as slightly left and right?

~ W ~


Posted Image


#43
Big_Stingman
[ Display Name History ]

Big_Stingman

    Hobgoblin Killer

  • Members
  • 1,713 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:1 December 2007
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Big Stingman



And you need a 1200W PSU Why lol? I could understand MAYBE if you were going quad SLI or something...but you could easily get away with an 800-1000W...


I suppose a silent computer is very desirable. As I understand it, it's still necessary to remove the hot air from the radiator if you use water cooling, so you're back to a fan or two again. Still, if they're good fans, it's still pretty acceptable.

Ah, I don't know. My rig's totalled up eight fans now and it get really loud sometimes.

Late EDIT: Out of curiosity, how does a 4 monitor 2x2 system compare with 3 monitors in a row? Isn't it a bit awkward looking up as well as slightly left and right?


Well in my CoolerMaster HAF 922 I have three case fans and it's usually pretty quiet. A 140mm, and 2 X 200mm. Bigger fans are quieter so it doesn't get too loud but still pushes lots of air. :)


More OT: Might as well post my computer I guess.



My Rig Specs:

Processor - AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor
Memory - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
Hard Drive - Two 320GB Western Digitial Black Caviar Enterprise Storage RAID0 & Two 1TB Western Digital Green Caviar RAID1
Video Card - PNY XLR8 GeForce GTX 470 (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16
Monitor - 23 Inch Widescreen (ASUS) 1920X1080 Res
Keyboard - Logitech G110
Mouse - Logitech MX518
Operating System - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Motherboard - GIGABYTE GA-770TA-UD3 AM3 AMD 770 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX
Computer Case - COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN1-GP
Power Supply - Thermaltake Toughpower 775W ATX 12V v2.3 / EPS 12V v2.91 SLI Certified CrossFire Certified 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified

#44
sloter
[ Display Name History ]

sloter

    Skeleton Shield

  • Members
  • 1,072 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:11 November 2007
  • RuneScape Status:None

And you need a 1200W PSU Why lol? I could understand MAYBE if you were going quad SLI or something...but you could easily get away with an 800-1000W...


Maybe. FYI, Using SLI isn't going to require anymore power than just running the cards normal. It doesn't hurt to have a little bigger PSU. however, it does hurt to have a smaller PSU. Also, what's the point you're trying to make? Did you think I was just going to jump up and by a smaller PSU for you?

#45
Big_Stingman
[ Display Name History ]

Big_Stingman

    Hobgoblin Killer

  • Members
  • 1,713 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:1 December 2007
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Big Stingman


And you need a 1200W PSU Why lol? I could understand MAYBE if you were going quad SLI or something...but you could easily get away with an 800-1000W...


Maybe. FYI, Using SLI isn't going to require anymore power than just running the cards normal. It doesn't hurt to have a little bigger PSU. however, it does hurt to have a smaller PSU. Also, what's the point you're trying to make? Did you think I was just going to jump up and by a smaller PSU for you?


I know that running SLI does not require anymore power then using four cards without SLI...although I'm not sure why you would not want to use SLI. The whole point of having that many cards would be to use them all at once. And a 1200w PSU is not a little bigger lol, that is almost 2 times as much you need. I did not expect you to "jump up and by a smaller PSU for [me]." I was just making a point that there is no need for such a high PSU for the current hardware you were running.

There is no need to be snappy or take offense. Just for future reference. :smile:

#46
sloter
[ Display Name History ]

sloter

    Skeleton Shield

  • Members
  • 1,072 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:11 November 2007
  • RuneScape Status:None



And you need a 1200W PSU Why lol? I could understand MAYBE if you were going quad SLI or something...but you could easily get away with an 800-1000W...


Maybe. FYI, Using SLI isn't going to require anymore power than just running the cards normal. It doesn't hurt to have a little bigger PSU. however, it does hurt to have a smaller PSU. Also, what's the point you're trying to make? Did you think I was just going to jump up and by a smaller PSU for you?


I know that running SLI does not require anymore power then using four cards without SLI...although I'm not sure why you would not want to use SLI. The whole point of having that many cards would be to use them all at once. And a 1200w PSU is not a little bigger lol, that is almost 2 times as much you need. I did not expect you to "jump up and by a smaller PSU for [me]." I was just making a point that there is no need for such a high PSU for the current hardware you were running.

There is no need to be snappy or take offense. Just for future reference. :smile:

I'm not running SLI because I'm running multi monitors. I still don't understand you're point at all. You made a big deal over over the size of my PSU in your OP. If you really want to know I'm running roughly 1050W to 1100W of the power supply. If you still have an issue about this PM me.

#47
GottaGetDownOnfriday
[ Display Name History ]

GottaGetDownOnfriday

    Bear Fur

  • Members
  • 264 posts
  • Joined:16 June 2010
Just got the Cooler Master 932 case. I moved all of my components to there. I have a few pics of it below.

I added a red cold cathode, fan controller, two LED fans (2 more on the way), and it looks pretty sweet. I plan on ordering another three cold cathodes and running two on each fan controller knob. I will have 4 LED fans (push 90CFM of air at max) and 4 cold cathodes (2 at top and 2 at bottom_ when everything is complete.

It lowered my CPU temp by around 11degrees Celsius, my ambient case temperature by 12 degrees, and my graphics card by 14 degrees. I didn't bother with much cable management since this is a temporary motherboard. Here is the Motherboard, processor, and memory I will be getting on my next purchase.

EVGA E758-TR 3-Way SLI (x16/x16/x8) LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor BX80601920
CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model TR3X6G1600C8 G
I am debating buying two more 9800's or two 470's . I plan on running triple/quad mons anyways.

pics

Posted Image

65,280 to 99 fletching on 3-14-09
40,405 to 99 woodcutting on 10-17-2009

#48
jasignhagj
[ Display Name History ]

jasignhagj

    Black Knight Trainer

  • Members
  • 3,183 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:16 July 2007
If you are running multi-monitors, how does the mouse move between them. Im curious, It's something I may try. Also, can you run 2 monitors while still having 2 cards in SLI?

My computer is a 2001 Dell Dimension 8200, nothing pretty to see inside. Unless you like spiderwebs or ribbon cables. Not sure which one bothers me more.

#49
Sbrideau
[ Display Name History ]

Sbrideau

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,387 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint-Georges, Québec, Canada (very close to the Maine border)
  • Joined:3 September 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Sbr
You just drag the mouse to the other screen, as easy as that. And yes, you should be able to have 2 screen with a SLI setup.

#50
jasignhagj
[ Display Name History ]

jasignhagj

    Black Knight Trainer

  • Members
  • 3,183 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:16 July 2007
Thanks.

#51
Sudn_Death
[ Display Name History ]

Sudn_Death

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
  • Joined:25 May 2010
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Sudn Death

If you are running multi-monitors, how does the mouse move between them. Im curious, It's something I may try. Also, can you run 2 monitors while still having 2 cards in SLI?

My computer is a 2001 Dell Dimension 8200, nothing pretty to see inside. Unless you like spiderwebs or ribbon cables. Not sure which one bothers me more.


Actually I would recommend a SLI set up if you are thinking of going with multiple monitors, each monitor requires a DVI/VGA/HDMI port connection and considering most cards on the market (excluding the latest Nvidia & ATI cards) only have 2 display ports.. normally DVI. So more GPU's = More monitors.

it's just like having one large monitor but with borders going through your screen. With some games you may have to set it up so the screens all match up but normally they are already set up for you.
Posted Image

#52
Guy
[ Display Name History ]

Guy

    The Guy

  • Members
  • 2,238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Joined:30 October 2005
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Guy The Best
-out of date-
laptop


desktop (large-ish image)

RIP TET

Posted Image

"That which does not kill us makes us stronger." - Friedrich Nietzsche


#53
RSBDavid
[ Display Name History ]

RSBDavid

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,113 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:18 April 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Davidd
Upgraded my computer about two weeks ago:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_LI03JuX9_Y

Some of the parts:
Posted Image


Coolermaster 932 HAF Case
EVGA X58 FTW3 Motherboard
6GB DDR 1600MHz memory
Intel i7 960 @ 3.6 Ghz
9800 GTX (Upgrading soon)
Coolermaster Hyper n 520 cpu heatsink and fan
Asus DVD drive and Burner
900 watt power supply
Logitech G13 Gamepad, G15 v2 Keyboad, G500 mouse

Eventually upgrading to dual 500 or 400 series Nvidia graphics cards for up to quad monitors. Thought about two 5870s and running up to 6, but that's too much.

Posted Image

[Software Engineer] - [Ability Bar Suggestion] - [Gaming Enthusiast]


#54
cheeky16
[ Display Name History ]

cheeky16

    Goblin Armour

  • Members
  • 126 posts
  • Joined:9 September 2010

-out of date-

laptop


desktop (large-ish image)


How do you get the wicked red water cooling? And how much does it cost to hook up a whole comp with water cooling like this? Perhaps different colors?

#55
Guy
[ Display Name History ]

Guy

    The Guy

  • Members
  • 2,238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Joined:30 October 2005
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Guy The Best


-out of date-

laptop


desktop (large-ish image)


How do you get the wicked red water cooling? And how much does it cost to hook up a whole comp with water cooling like this? Perhaps different colors?

That's not watercooling, I've just sleeved my PSU with UV reactive sleeving and I've hidden a couple of UV cathodes at the top and bottom. My current build looks entirely different now, I've changed the case and stuck an H50 in there as well. I'll post build pics once I'm finished :thumbup:

RIP TET

Posted Image

"That which does not kill us makes us stronger." - Friedrich Nietzsche


#56
cheeky16
[ Display Name History ]

cheeky16

    Goblin Armour

  • Members
  • 126 posts
  • Joined:9 September 2010



-out of date-

laptop


desktop (large-ish image)


How do you get the wicked red water cooling? And how much does it cost to hook up a whole comp with water cooling like this? Perhaps different colors?

That's not watercooling, I've just sleeved my PSU with UV reactive sleeving and I've hidden a couple of UV cathodes at the top and bottom. My current build looks entirely different now, I've changed the case and stuck an H50 in there as well. I'll post build pics once I'm finished :thumbup:


That is pretty wicked. Where did you get the cathodes and sleeving? And are there many colors to choose from? I'm thinking I should do something to clean up my case a little. I might post some pics when I'm done but it's nothing special.

#57
Guy
[ Display Name History ]

Guy

    The Guy

  • Members
  • 2,238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Joined:30 October 2005
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Guy The Best


That is pretty wicked. Where did you get the cathodes and sleeving? And are there many colors to choose from? I'm thinking I should do something to clean up my case a little. I might post some pics when I'm done but it's nothing special.


I got the cathodes from a shop, and the sleeving on ebay. There are quite a few colours to choose from, but the best sleeving is from MDPC, but it is a little expensive. Cathodes you can get on ebay.

Edit:

This is the kind of thing I'm doing with the sleeving (this is just a SATA cable, I'm doing the same with the PSU)
Posted Image

And this just a guts pic.. it's not particularly tidy in there (nor is it a good photo, but it's a webcam)
Posted Image

RIP TET

Posted Image

"That which does not kill us makes us stronger." - Friedrich Nietzsche


#58
Methud
[ Display Name History ]

Methud

    Unicorn Horn

  • Members
  • 205 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Miami
  • Joined:12 June 2007
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Dr Deuce

Upgraded my computer about two weeks ago:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_LI03JuX9_Y

Some of the parts:
Posted Image


Coolermaster 932 HAF Case
EVGA X58 FTW3 Motherboard
6GB DDR 1600MHz memory
Intel i7 960 @ 3.6 Ghz
9800 GTX (Upgrading soon)
Coolermaster Hyper n 520 cpu heatsink and fan
Asus DVD drive and Burner
900 watt power supply
Logitech G13 Gamepad, G15 v2 Keyboad, G500 mouse

Eventually upgrading to dual 500 or 400 series Nvidia graphics cards for up to quad monitors. Thought about two 5870s and running up to 6, but that's too much.


Why no sandy bridge???
Posted Image

#59
RoswellCrash
[ Display Name History ]

RoswellCrash

    Varrock Guard

  • Members
  • 1,374 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:29 June 2005
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
12 Cores & 24 threads clocked to 4.00GHz (duel processors)
SLI graphics cards & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit.

- Case: Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80B Super Tower
- Power Supply: Corsair Professional AX1200W
- CPU: x2 Intel Xeon X5650 2.66GHz @ 4.00GHz
- Motherboard: EVGA Classified SR-2 DDR3 Dual Socket Motherboard
- RAM: Corsair Dominator GT 12GB DDR3 PC3-16000C8 (2000MHz) Tri-Channel
- Graphics: x2 Nvidia GeForce GTX 580 1536MB GDDR5 Configured in SLI
- Sound: Asus Xonar D2X Sound
- Network: Bigfoot Killer 2100 Gigabit Gaming Network Card
- Optical: Samsung SH-B083L/BSBP BluRay ROM
- Hard Drive: 250GB SSD Intel Elmcrest
- Storage: Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB SATA 6GB/s

- Display 1: Samsung SyncMaster SA950 - FullHD 3D LED screen 27" Widescreen.
- Display 2 & 3: Samsung SyncMaster 920n 19" screens
- Keyboard: Logitech G19
- Mouse: Roccat Kone+ 6000DPI Max Customization Gaming Mouse
- Mouse mat: Razer Destructor (Used to be a fan of Razer mice until I found the Roccat mice)
- Headset: Logitect G35 Gaming Headset (with half decent surround sound & macro keys built in and voice morphing software)
- Speakers: JBL Creature 2 (upgrading to Corsair Gaming Audio Series SP2500 High-Power 2.1 PC Speaker System)
- Webcam: Logitech HD Pro Webcam C910 Web camera

Hopefully this rig can handle RuneScape in full settings lol

#60
Guy
[ Display Name History ]

Guy

    The Guy

  • Members
  • 2,238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Joined:30 October 2005
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Guy The Best
All of that and still a top mounted PSU?! Anyway that is a very nice rig.. what else do you do on it apart from gaming? An i7 2600k OC'd will handle most games - 2 server processors aren't needed for that. Spending 5G's is tonnes too o.O

RIP TET

Posted Image

"That which does not kill us makes us stronger." - Friedrich Nietzsche





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users