2-step verification for RuneScape (concept)

Mercifull

Note: This is a modified version of my post on the RSOF [QFC]277-278-105-63939404[/QFC]

Introduction

I think most people here know me, or at least know of me. I have been playing RuneScape on and off for well over 10 years now some people here may have met me at RuneFest in 2010 or 2011. Like many other people in the past I've been the victim of account thefts and lost what would probably now be the equivalent of billions of GP (loss of partyhats). It's an incredibly furstrating and stressful experience and it's not always the users fault. 0-day exploits and social engineering methods as well as the more common keylogging and phishing scams.

I have created a concept (well put together more like rather than inventing it) for a more secure way of logging in to RuneScape or any of Jagex properties. It's called 2-step verification and it is very similar to what Google uses as well as other games such as World of Warcraft, Diablo III, Rift, Star Wars: The Old Republic and many more.

Back in 2008 Jagex proposed a scheme whereby you could purchase a USB sized Secure key which you could use to generate a unique code to login. At the time Jagex were planning to offer an increased bankspace as an incentive to get people to purchase these keys unfortunately there was outrage from a vocal minority of the community about how paying real money (for a key) could get you an in-game advantage (more space) and so along with possibly prohibitively expensive costs the project was cancelled.

Fast forward to 2012 and the world and community is a different place. Security technologies have improved, smartphone usage has risen to over half of the population in America with similar figures in Europe and most of the western world. This means that mobile app authenticators have become much more viable, cost effective and easy to distribute.

Why this is needed