Soft Drugs: What gives?

venomai

Just another drug discussion. Let's try to keep this discussion mature and intelligent. This is a G-rated forum, after all.

Main questions:

Why does the media project such a negative image on soft drugs, and what are your views on the subject? Do you think legalising soft drugs would have positive or negative impacts? etc.

This discussion, for the most part, will focus on three major soft drugs: cannabis, LSD and psilocybin. I'll include facts and studies below to better educate you on the subject.

I'll start with personal background so you can get an idea of my bias. I'm a 17 year old student going into grade 12. I do very well in school. I'm top of my class in programming, my favourite subject. As a casual smoker of marijuana and hashish, I have no history of serious mental or physical illness. I don't smoke tobacco, although I have tried hookah once. I've never tried LSD or psilocybin, but I plan to try it responsibly in the near future.

Less than a year ago I was convinced that these sort of drugs were extremely harmful and ruined your life. I believed that they were illegal for good reasons. Eventually I began to research the topic of drugs and have found that soft drugs like LSD, psilocybin and cannabis (among others) are far less harmful than alcohol and cigarettes. They are also less physically addictive than caffeine (let alone tobacco or alcohol). Now... I've reconsidered my position on drugs and I'm all for the idea of (responsible) soft drugs for recreational use.

-----

I understand that many people have a skewed idea of soft drugs, often due to the media. Before entering the discussion I urge you to please educate yourselves in the subject. I've included lots of information on cannabis, LSD and psilocybin below. Citations are included. Feel free to criticise my findings, I'll update them as necessary. :)

Cannabis[hide]

Basics: