God of End - Since 2001 RSC... One last goal to end my era

[Please find the time to read the entire story and not just skim through it. For those of you who've been around since RSC, I guarantee nostalgic feelings to arise ::']

Hey all,

My runescape name is God of End. I started playing runescape in 2001 ( Can't remember the exact month -but yes, the very year it was released ). My first serious goal was 99 Firemaking. I achieved this on August 2002 (or) 2003 ( Can't remember again, lol ). I was the #Fifteenth (or) #Seventeenth person to achieve 99 Firemaking ( I can't remember exactly which one was it ). Back then it was a BIG thing to have a level 99 in almost any skill.

221103-99999.gif

left to rigth: Philipj, Zotherax, God of End, Jamie2002, John2496. - All 99 Firemaking. There was around 19 People at that time who had 99 Firemaking.

Firemaking was no exception. Comparing Firemaking in RSC to Firemaking in RS2 is like comparing apples with oranges. I'm not trying to show-off about it, but back then it was waaay harder compared to how easy its been made today. We only had one type of log to light, and later on Jagex made things even harder by introducing a lovely sleeping bag. Make no mistake, achieving a 99 in any skill is an accomplishment to be proud of ( you worked hard for it! ) - But almost every skill in RSC was way harder to achieve then it is now. I guess, Zezima himself summed it up well when he said,

I have stopped playing RuneScape competitively because it's getting progressively easier over time. With it getting easier to train skills and gain exp, I've lost a sense of accomplishment in what I've worked hard to achieve since I started in 2001. If things will continue to get easier, it ruins the game for those of us who have been here since the beginning.

---