Laptop Harddrive/Window help

hatebringer

Okay guys, so it all starts out about 8 months ago. I was coming home from school and I had my laptop in my bag like i usually do. When I got home i grab my bag and get out of the car and somehow I had not grabbed my bag correctly or something but I end up dropping it right on the pavement. :( It was a pretty violent thud, but the laptop worked okay after. Here is where my first problem came up

- Bottom left corner of screen (not actual window screen) is cracked and plastic piece fell off so I can see the rotating mechanic for opening and closing the laptop.

Now this wouldn't be bad but it also had the effect of making my backlight on my screen very dull sometimes but has now gone from that to flickering and eventually making a buzzing noise almost like its grounding out somehow. I opened up the screen but did not see any frayed wires, but I am not a laptop pro, desktops are my thing so im not sure :/

I've been living with this issue for awhile now, and i can usually make it stop for a little while by tapping the screen or closing the top and tapping the top of it. works about 60% of the time so wondering if you guys know how I could fix, or look into fixing it.

NOTE: It is a Dell Inspirion

Now a more pressing matter that has been plaguing my laptop since the fall.