MMORPG Addiction

highlanders

Heres's an interesting website that I found that talks about mmorpg addiction. They talk about causes of addiction, why people play mmorpgs, and such.

http://www.nickyee.com/hub/addiction/home.html

(If you dont trust my link, copy and paste it on google to see it's description.)

I think most of us know those things. But the question that struck me after reading that article: But is it bad to play them?

Its rather funny, because when I started playing Rs (4-5 yrs ago, I have played on and off), I had various problems in my life. Now, I solved and Im working on solving these problems, and since that time, Im playing less and less, and finding all of this rather pointless.

I see you coming, someone will go say; mmorpgs are harmless if you just play 30 mins a day. I think its pretty stupid to say that, because people play games to achieve things, and no one achieves anything in 30 mins a day. The large majority of people play much more than that. And the people on this forum should know this especially - all the higher lvls dwell in tip.it forums.

On rs, Ive seen people go on and off many times in a day, probably because Rs is browser based and easy to access, also maybe because you get booted if you dont move for 1 min -.-. On flyff, another mmorpg I've played, people can easily play 12 hours in a row - personally, I've never done that, but some friends I had, in the high lvls, would do that everyday, going to bed at 3-5am in the morning.

Anyway, what's your thoughts? People are addicted to mmorpgs, but is it wrong to play them? What is better, playing or not playing?

2480+ total

just balance i play around 2 hours a day and very many days nothing so i have the whole day with friends i got a pretty good social live and stil can play runescape pretty good with lvl 80 and some other nice stats so its posible to balance it!