Java camera following

Trying to make a kind of 2D game in java to learn the basics. Anyways, I need to make like, the window follow the character, while moving the map and everything else.

Can anyone help with this? Remember, I'm just beginning in java. :\

untitled6kv7.gif

sterlite.png

Sterlite.png

You don't code the character to move.

You code it so when you click to move it runs a movement animation on the character but its actually the map etc tht moves.

Plv6Dz6.jpg

Operation Gold Sparkles :: Chompy Kills ::  Full Profound :: Champions :: Barbarian Notes :: Champions Tackle Box :: MA Rewards

Dragonkin Journals :: Ports Stories :: Elder Chronicles :: Boss Slayer :: Penance King :: Kal'gerion Titles :: Gold Statue

You code it so when you click to move it runs a movement animation on the character but its actually the map etc tht moves.

I was thinking that at first, but then moved to the character moving idea because of all the things that would need to move on the map...NPCs, etc... Oh well, I guess. :P

So, any ideas on how to start on this then?

untitled6kv7.gif

sterlite.png

Sterlite.png

Um....By beginning do you mean your first month or have you been at this for awhile. Also, is this your first programming language?

Quote - Revenge is such a nasty thing that only breeds more vengeful souls, but in some situations revenge does not even need to be sought out, but only bided.

Um....By beginning do you mean your first month or have you been at this for awhile. Also, is this your first programming language?

This.

This is a good resource book: http://www.amazon.com/Killer-Game-Programming-Andrew-Davison/dp/0596007302/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1280710993&sr=8-1

polvCwJ.gif
"It's not a rest for me, it's a rest for the weights." - Dom Mazzetti

Here is what I would do:

//PseudoCode by ballerplaya

//This will make the character appear to move
//This assumes this is using KeyListener and is in the keypressed method