Need an operating system... or do I? Help lol..

Zibl

Alright well I'll try and keep this simple and brief. Please keep in mind before reading this that I'm a newbie to this stuff.. I just need a bit of help :| .

My cousin's computer received a nasty virus last weekend. In fact, he recieved a FEW nasty viruses. His whole family was fed up with the thing so they decided to get a new one. Not the point. The point is, however, that I offered to take their modem (just for a bit of fooling around). Well last night I 110% COMPLETELY wiped the hard drive on it (used DBAN to do this).

Now when I cut the computer on, all it says is "Operating system not found". I expected that. But uh.. exactly how can I fix this :oops: ? To be perfectly honest I would like to somehow get my hands ahold of a Windows XP Home Edition disk and load windows xp on that bad boy and have an extra computer laying around :) . But I wasn't sure if that is all that it would take. Then Linux popped in my mind, but I haven't a clue on anything about that.

I guess my question is what should I do? Any opinions are welcome along with any ideas and/or help. Please keep in mind I'm a novice at all this stuff.

RS Name: Zibl || Click Signature for my RS Life Story!

ziblretieredwarriorchicpc7.jpg

[ 87 Combat ] [ 1240 Total ] [ Ex-RSC Professional Merchant ]

12.20.01 - 10.5.05 || Status: Retired

Total losses in 5 years = just over 630 million gp (BILLIONS in today's prices)

Well since you wiped the computer, there's nothing on it. You'll need to install an operating system; just pop in a WinXP CD into the computer and install. You should then be able to use it as a spare :)

==================================

Retired tip.it moderator.

Teaching and inspiring.

ya operating systems stoped coming ONBOARD about a year ago...

:P

But anyways, yes you need to get one.