Simple C++ Card Game

Hello! I don't spend a lot of time on these forums, but I think I might in the future. :)

I'm currently a second year university student. In my first year we learned C++, but we only touched on Object Oriented Programming. So I'm trying to teach it to myself while I have some downtime between summer classes! I've managed to make a simple program that builds cards, then spits the cards out to stdout. What I'd like from you guys is a suggestion of a simple one-player card game I might be able to make!

Right now I'm running everything through Command Prompt (Windows system :P) and that's where all my output goes, so all my output is of course text based. I've been curious if there's another place I can direct output that isn't strictly text? Even if there is, it's likely too complicated for me to try yet, but I would still like to know about it. :)

EDIT: Another question that's not entirely important right now, but may be in the future: I don't seem to have the stdint.h or cstdint libraries on my laptop. Is there a way I can check? And if they aren't there, is there a way I can get them? If it helps I'm running Windows 7 Home Premium!

Blakdragon39.png

Any solitaire game should be pretty easy to reproduce, just google it up.

I'd download visual C++ from microsoft, if you have msdn student access it's free.

I assume you only had one C++ class, an introductory one? Otherwise they should have taught you gui :?

polvCwJ.gif
"It's not a rest for me, it's a rest for the weights." - Dom Mazzetti

^ I don't know what kind of programming education or experience you have, (i.e. you might know more than me) but I am guessing that GUI programming is taught more with Java than with C++.

What's kind of strange to me is that they would teach C++ without teaching OOP. IMO if you're just going to teach procedural programming with a lower-level language you should just learn C, and learn OOP later with C++/Java.