Jump to content

Welcome to Rune Tips, the first ever RuneScape help site. We aim to offer skill guides, quest guides, maps, calculators, informative databases, tips, and much more to help you get the most from the Massive Online Adventure Game, RuneScape, by Jagex Ltd © 2009.

Report Ad

Welcome to Forum.Tip.It
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Desktop disappeared?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
All_Is_Great
[ Display Name History ]

All_Is_Great

    Black Knight Trainer

  • Members
  • 3,498 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada, eh?
  • Joined:5 May 2007
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
Bigger problem now =/
I turned on my computer this morning and the desktop icons including the toolbar all disappeared, leaving me with just a wallpaper. Using windows 7 atm. Anyway to fix that?

Just a couple questions.

1. Skype won't work on my new desktop? I sign in, then wait like 2 minutes and it says can't connect... confused. I just installed wifi using my old laptop a day before I got the new desktop, does that mean i have to reconfigure it?

2. My wifi router works on 2.4 GHz but apparently so does my cordless phone, apparently this means they will interfere. I'm just wondering how much of a problem this will be?

Staurolite.png


#2
Guy
[ Display Name History ]

Guy

    The Guy

  • Members
  • 2,238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Joined:30 October 2005
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Guy The Best
Lots of things work on 2.4GHz. Interference does happen, but it happens everywhere and theres not a lot you can do about it. So the internet and everything works apart from skype? The internet might not be fast enough on that computer.

RIP TET

Posted Image

"That which does not kill us makes us stronger." - Friedrich Nietzsche


#3
All_Is_Great
[ Display Name History ]

All_Is_Great

    Black Knight Trainer

  • Members
  • 3,498 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada, eh?
  • Joined:5 May 2007
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
Oh well that's too bad =/.

And yah skype is the only thing that doesn't work. Granted it's a new computer so I don't think internet speed is any problem, since my old laptop could run skype just fine on the same internet... I installed it with the Skypeinstaller than came with the computer, maybe I should uninstall and download from the internet?

Staurolite.png


#4
Guy
[ Display Name History ]

Guy

    The Guy

  • Members
  • 2,238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Joined:30 October 2005
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Guy The Best
No harm in trying to reinstall.

RIP TET

Posted Image

"That which does not kill us makes us stronger." - Friedrich Nietzsche


#5
Danqazmlp
[ Display Name History ]

Danqazmlp

    To Ass!

  • Members
  • 8,492 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:7 November 2005
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Danqazmlp
Has windows explorer just failed to start?
Want to be my friend? Look under my name to the left<<< and click the 'Add as friend' button!
Posted Image
Big thanks to Stevepole for the signature!^

#6
obfuscator
[ Display Name History ]

obfuscator

    Tanned Caveman

  • Members
  • 20,231 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:6 March 2008
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
Control alt delete-> open task manager -> File -> New task(run), enter "explorer.exe", click Ok. That should bring back your icons and taskbar.

Apologies for censor evasion, not able to give help without it lol.

polvCwJ.gif
"It's not a rest for me, it's a rest for the weights." - Dom Mazzetti


#7
All_Is_Great
[ Display Name History ]

All_Is_Great

    Black Knight Trainer

  • Members
  • 3,498 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada, eh?
  • Joined:5 May 2007
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
I tried doing "ctrl alt del" for task manager but the screen just turns black. :unsure:

I can also right click on the screen and open control panel and browse through there, but I can't open anything.

Staurolite.png


#8
obfuscator
[ Display Name History ]

obfuscator

    Tanned Caveman

  • Members
  • 20,231 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:6 March 2008
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
Try windowkey + r to run, don't know if it'll work though.

polvCwJ.gif
"It's not a rest for me, it's a rest for the weights." - Dom Mazzetti


#9
Sbrideau
[ Display Name History ]

Sbrideau

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,387 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint-Georges, Qu├ębec, Canada (very close to the Maine border)
  • Joined:3 September 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Sbr
ctrl + Shift + Escape

#10
indy500fan
[ Display Name History ]

indy500fan

    Dragon Slayer

  • Members
  • 8,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:26 June 2004
  • RuneScape Status:None
No reason to ctrl-alt-del to get to task manager, as Sbrideau stated ctrl-shift-escape goes straight to it.
Posted Image
Posted Image

#11
All_Is_Great
[ Display Name History ]

All_Is_Great

    Black Knight Trainer

  • Members
  • 3,498 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada, eh?
  • Joined:5 May 2007
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
As it turns out it was a rather simple but frustrating problem.

My computer just decided to randomly change display settings to 2 monitors, so the one I saw had nothing on it. I could right click and create folders/ open control panel on it, but whenever I opened firefox or task manager, it would appear on monitor 1 and my screen would do nothing.

Took my about an hour to figure out <_<

Staurolite.png


#12
jasignhagj
[ Display Name History ]

jasignhagj

    Black Knight Trainer

  • Members
  • 3,183 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:16 July 2007

No reason to ctrl-alt-del to get to task manager, as Sbrideau stated ctrl-shift-escape goes straight to it.


+9001 internets to you sir, the new Win7 ctrl-alt-delete always irritates me.

#13
indy500fan
[ Display Name History ]

indy500fan

    Dragon Slayer

  • Members
  • 8,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:26 June 2004
  • RuneScape Status:None


No reason to ctrl-alt-del to get to task manager, as Sbrideau stated ctrl-shift-escape goes straight to it.


+9001 internets to you sir, the new Win7 ctrl-alt-delete always irritates me.


If you were on a domain with XP it would do the same thing :smile: . Annoying at first, but it is an easy way to get to a password change dialog.
Also certain remote desktop viewers will accept ctrl-shift-escape automatically even if it doesn't automatically take other shortcuts.
Posted Image
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users