hacked and scammed possibilites?

nightfire

i've been playing runescape since around june 2005 and normally, i just play the game and i will make sure i don't tell anyone my pass, pin, and even not "talk" about it. but recently, i'm reading people getting "hacked." is it really true that people can just "hack" your account out of the blue?

if so, how do you prevent that? i have the latest antivirus and antispyware, and i keep a sharp eye and senses should anybody ask for my pass. anything else i'm missing?

02e32d69f6.png

Well, that's about all one can do. Just play safely and you should be alright. Unfortunately, most firewalls have trouble with keyloggers, but with the addition of the bank PIN you should be fine. Other than that it's just bad luck.

Abutebaris modo subjunctivo denuo.

newscapere4.gif

grammar2gr8dx.png

if so, how do you prevent that? i have the latest antivirus and antispyware, and i keep a sharp eye and senses should anybody ask for my pass. anything else i'm missing?

Common sense. This isn't at you specifically, but all the spyware and anti-virus won't help you if you enter your information on a scam website and/or email. That accounts for a suprisingly large amount of 'hacked' accounts.

is it really true that people can just "hack" your account out of the blue?

Absolutely not. The only way for them to hack your account without your involvement (unwitting or otherwise) would be to systematically type in every possible combination of characters until they stumbled on your password - a "brute force" attack. They could write some sort of script to do the typing for them, but - being a java applet rather than a standard win32 control - that would be difficult to execute accurately.

Outside of that, you would need to get yourself keylogged or otherwise manipulated into giving up your pass.

siganizq4.gif

^ Good point, which is why your password should be alpha-numeric, to limit that chance.