Tips for finding a part time job?

All_Is_Great

Well, I need to find a part time job. I've been procrastinating for several months now, but I figure I should get onto it and hope to find a job soon.

However, I've never worked before and need all the help I can.

Things like:

how to write a good resume

interviews in general

what kind of places should I apply at.

etc.

Thanks in advance guys!

Staurolite.png

how to write a good resume

There are plenty of guides out there on the internet; I'd suggest Googling. But generally, ensure it's clear and straightforward with no grammatical or spelling mistakes. You'll want to get photocopies of references etc, generally from well respected individuals - fx, if your family knows a local doctor who you say, did lawn mowing for, try and get a recommendation from them and just photocopy and attach. Try to aim for 2 - 4 references, if you're starting out.

interviews in general

My father is a contract project manager, and as such is often in charge of hiring staff. When I first tried to get summer jobs etc, he gave me a bit of advice along the lines of:

Self confidence is the most important thing, along with clarity. However, arrogance automatically turns me off.

Basically, go into an interview knowing what you want and why you want it, being confident you're more than capable of doing the job. But don't saunter in assuming you deserve it. Also, be enthusiastic!

what kind of places should I apply at.

Assuming you're a teenager (big premise there :3) you're probably looking to do 'unskilled' part time work. I'd recommend the service industry over manual labour, assuming you're being paid minimum wage; it's great to get early experience there as you develop contacts, especially in hospitality. I'd recommend clothing/electronics stores (if you like that), cafes and bars.

Hope this helps. :wink: