Jump to content

Welcome to Rune Tips, the first ever RuneScape help site. We aim to offer skill guides, quest guides, maps, calculators, informative databases, tips, and much more to help you get the most from the Massive Online Adventure Game, RuneScape, by Jagex Ltd © 2009.

Report Ad

Welcome to Forum.Tip.It
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Which OS?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
dragon246665
[ Display Name History ]

dragon246665

    Scorpion Pit

  • Members
  • 622 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:22 June 2008
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Nitro_Naught
Hello good people of the tech forum, I've been building a computer from scratch, and I'm getting down to buying my last part, the OS. (I saved this one for last because, lets face it, this is probly the most boring thing you can buy when building a computer.) I'm going with Windows 7, but I'm a bit confused about which "version" to buy. I can either buy this, the 100 dollar version, or this one, the 200$ one.

The reason I ask this is because I think I heard someone say that the 100$ one only works if you have a previous Windows OS on your computer already, and that its only an "upgrade", hence the cheaper pricetag, whereas the 200$ one is the full fledged OS in all its as-excited-as-you-can-get-about-a-200-dollar-disk glory.

So my question is, would the cheaper one cover me? Or do I need to shell out 200 because I'm starting from a blank slate?

Also, feel free to comment on the rig I've built:
Case: RAIDMAX SMILODON Extreme Black
Motherboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH P67 (REV 3.0) LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s
CPU: Intel Core i5-2500 Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz
GPU: MSI N560GTX Twin Frozr II/OC GeForce GTX 560 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5
RAM: G.SKILL Sniper 8GB (2 x 4GB)
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache
(The rest isn't cool and spec-ish, so I won't bother posting it)

Thanks for any advice!
Posted Image

#2
Gandorf61
[ Display Name History ]

Gandorf61

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,669 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Joined:30 September 2006
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Gandorf61
You'll only need the $100 OEM version if you're building the computer from scratch.

Basically the differences are:

OEM ($100)
-Can only install on one computer (License is tied to that computer only)
-If you upgrade a major computer part you need to contact Microsoft I believe to reactivate the OS again (As it will think you've installed it on a new computer. You won't be charged for this.)

Retail ($200)
-Can move OS to another computer
-You get tech support from Microsoft (Useless in my opinion)
-You get a fancy retail box

I personally have a computer with an OEM version of Windows 7 and it works great for me, not worth paying for the retail version at all.

#3
Tim
[ Display Name History ]

Tim

    Eternal Session of Sound

  • Members
  • 8,848 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia
  • Joined:12 November 2006
  • RSN '07:Derplander
Might as well go for the 64 bit Retail of Windows 7 Ultimate in my opinion.

Make sure you GET THE 64BIT VERSION. 32bit can only read 3.5GB and under of RAM. At least if something goes wrong, you can re-install it AND get 32+64bit versions.

If you think nothing'l go wrong, 64bit OEM. But I do advise to get at least Premium or Ultimate, not home edition.

Popoto.~<3


#4
dragon246665
[ Display Name History ]

dragon246665

    Scorpion Pit

  • Members
  • 622 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:22 June 2008
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Nitro_Naught
OEM will do fine you say? Wow, that made my day. Also, why should I go for premium or Ultimate, I thought that the only difference was the number of applications I got, and that it didn't affect performance.
Posted Image

#5
Sbrideau
[ Display Name History ]

Sbrideau

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,387 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint-Georges, Qu├ębec, Canada (very close to the Maine border)
  • Joined:3 September 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Sbr
Premium has all you need for everyday use. I got Pro and regret buying it, I should've bought home premium.

#6
Guy
[ Display Name History ]

Guy

    The Guy

  • Members
  • 2,238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Joined:30 October 2005
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Guy The Best

Might as well go for the 64 bit Retail of Windows 7 Ultimate in my opinion.

There is the issue that ultimate is $100 more expensive, and most of the features are not needed.


Comparison picture


Don't be fooled by the 'windows XP mode'. It basically runs windows xp within windows 7 in a virtual machine, and this is only needed for a select few programs which are usually corporate programs that are written SPECIFICALLY for windows XP. Most XP programs run in 7 just fine. Hey, I've played a game designed for 2000 on my computer running 7 home premium.

OEM version, original equipment manufacturer version, is for system builders. It is identical to the retail version, apart from you can only use the install with the same motherboard that it was originally installed on, ie you can not change motherboards. You can call microsoft and have them give you a key, but this is against the terms of service and is illegal. Regardless, it is doubtful that they will flag you up on it, and by the time you build a new system we'll be on a new version of windows anyway. Gandorf's advice on this is good.

Make sure you install the 64bit version for it to recognise all of your RAM.

I'm running home premium and I never have the need for any of the features of professional/ultimate. If you ever feel you are going to add more than 16GB of RAM then go for professional, but unless you need the languages there is no reason to go for ultimate.

TL;DR either Home Premium or Professional, not ultimate, and 64bit OEM version.

RIP TET

Posted Image

"That which does not kill us makes us stronger." - Friedrich Nietzsche


#7
Kevill
[ Display Name History ]

Kevill

    Spider Egg

  • Members
  • 61 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:23 February 2009
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Kevill

OEM ($100)
-If you upgrade a major computer part you need to contact Microsoft I believe to reactivate the OS again (As it will think you've installed it on a new computer. You won't be charged for this.)



I just wanted to make a side note on the OEM bit that I quoted above.
I always buy the OEM operating systems, as I always build my computers.

On my first computer, I suffered both a motherboard failure, and a hard drive failure (the HD that held my OS).
However, when replacing both pieces with different brand, or version components, I never had to contact
Microsoft to reactivate my OS.

So, hey, upside, you may not even have to call Microsoft to reactivate. :D

...not sure about a cpu replacement though.


~Kevill

EDIT:

Oh yeah, I'm in complete 100% agreement with Guydabest's post above too. :P

#8
Guy
[ Display Name History ]

Guy

    The Guy

  • Members
  • 2,238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Joined:30 October 2005
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Guy The Best

On my first computer, I suffered both a motherboard failure, and a hard drive failure (the HD that held my OS).

It should be fine and not require reactivation if it's the same motherboard I think. edit: You only need to call microsoft when using the same hard drive on a different motherboard, AFAIK.
The ToS legally covers you so if your motherboard fails you are legally still allowed to use the copy of windows on the replacement motherboard of the same type. It's not like they enforce the ToS massively though..

RIP TET

Posted Image

"That which does not kill us makes us stronger." - Friedrich Nietzsche


#9
cheeky16
[ Display Name History ]

cheeky16

    Goblin Armour

  • Members
  • 126 posts
  • Joined:9 September 2010
The motherboard I initially got with my OEM build failed twice and I changed manufactures and didn't have to worry about calling them. It installed properly and has worked perfectly. I even changed my HDD to a SSD and it's still all good. I use Home Premium 64bit, which is what all the tech guys at the shop said is best. Unless you need the features of Professional or Ultimate I wouldn't bother.

Cheers,

#10
jasignhagj
[ Display Name History ]

jasignhagj

    Black Knight Trainer

  • Members
  • 3,183 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:16 July 2007
One thing, if you can find the Professional oem version for only say $20 more, go for it. The reason? You can't disable that [developmentally delayed]ed automatic restart prompt after windows updates unless you have access to group policy, which Home Premium doesn't. You can change a registry value so it won't actually restart, but the annoying prompt still comes up every 4 hours.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users