Officials, referees, and umpires

Nomrombom

People judge the ref ALL THE TIME. There is constant hate for the ref, abuse, foul language, and insults. The ref is always in the wrong.

I can tell you (as a referee myself) that yes, you are sometimes right. We do make bad calls all the time. Every game, there will be multiple wrong/missed calls.

But do people think we don't try our hardest? I don't know about other referees, but I strive to make the best possible call whenever I can. Of course I'll be wrong sometimes - we're human too. But in general we do get the calls right. We've trained for a long time (my total hours in referee classes = 24) and we (usually) have experience (I've refereed over 150 games). We are looking to keep the players safe, first and foremost. Second is to make the right call. We are NOT trying to screw you over.

Something interesting to keep in mind is that when watching a game in real life, the referee can and will take in to account the behavior of the spectators and coaches, and adjust their calls accordingly.

Anyway, what do you guys think about all this? Am I right? Or am I wrong (as always ;-))?

PM me for fitocracy invite

You're right, a lot of people blame the ref because they think a call is unfair, but most of the time it is balanced out. Besides, it's not like the ref is expected to be perfect right? At least in some sports (American Football) you can challenge the ref's call, but other sports you cannot (Basketball)

Btw, there is a subsection for sports-related topics.

As a referee myself, I think you're right. I do often make wrong calls, but it's mostly due to the speed of the game. I know (or at least I like to think I do) what I'm doing and what calls to make.

What sport(s) do you ref?

VsaJs.jpg