Jump to content

Welcome to Rune Tips, the first ever RuneScape help site. We aim to offer skill guides, quest guides, maps, calculators, informative databases, tips, and much more to help you get the most from the Massive Online Adventure Game, RuneScape, by Jagex Ltd © 2009.

Report Ad

Welcome to Forum.Tip.It
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Does RuneScape require a graphics card?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
d3nic
[ Display Name History ]

d3nic

    Scorpion Pit

  • Members
  • 703 posts
  • Location:England
  • Joined:23 February 2006
Hello all.



I recently removed my graphics card from my PC as it died, now I'm using on board graphics - 64MB.





If you have a better graphics card in your pc, will runescape run better?



When you go to play runescape it doesnt say anything about a graphics card.



Thanks

#2
frizoid
[ Display Name History ]

frizoid

    Bear Fur

  • Members
  • 487 posts
  • Location:Yorkshire
  • Joined:26 September 2004
Runescape should work fine, though with a graphics card it will perform better.



I suggest you get one as soon as possible, onboard graphics are never that good to be honest.
Posted Image

#3
Bauke
[ Display Name History ]

Bauke

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 3,553 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Joined:19 April 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Quitter
  • Clan:True Maxed
Forgive me my stupidity if I'm talking cabbage here, but.. doesn't RS rely almost completely on the cpu?

#4
x76
[ Display Name History ]

x76

    Scorpion Pit

  • Members
  • 503 posts
  • Joined:25 August 2004
From what I've experienced with a 4mb onboard graphics chip with a 1ghz cpu and the same computer with a 32mb AGP, the graphics card has nothing to do with how Runescape performs.

#5
tunaboy692004
[ Display Name History ]

tunaboy692004

    Scorpion Pit

  • Members
  • 598 posts
  • Location:Amerika Studying:Computer Devolopment
  • Joined:9 October 2004
My desktop has onboard GFX and RS runs fine, but im not sure the Specs on it.
Posted Image
Current Goals
80/80 Fletching
60/75 Woodcutting
97/100 Combat

#6
Cruiser
[ Display Name History ]

Cruiser

    IRC Operator

  • IRC Channel Staff
  • 1,759 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:IRC
  • Joined:18 June 2004
  • RuneScape Status:None

Runescape should work fine, though with a graphics card it will perform better.



I suggest you get one as soon as possible, onboard graphics are never that good to be honest.




Java is CPU driven. The only graphics work your card or onboard graphics will be doing is redrawing the screen as if there was no RS open.



There's a reason it pushes CPU usage to 60%+ and theres no graphics hardware requirment on the loading pages.

#7
bjbj1991
[ Display Name History ]

bjbj1991

    Skeleton Shield

  • Members
  • 1,248 posts
  • Location:California
  • Joined:15 June 2005
Runescape relys entirly on the CPU to process the graphics. This is one reasion why the art is not up to speed with other games like World of Warcraft. If you want to have the best RS excperience then get a fast CPU, internet connection, and update Java.

#8
superdumb6
[ Display Name History ]

superdumb6

    Goblin Armour

  • Members
  • 126 posts
  • Location:Crying over my membership running out!!!
  • Joined:12 May 2006
Yeah runescape does require a graphics card. I don't know if better works nicer for runescape but it does require a graphics card. This message requires one. If you don't believe me, and don't have an onboard card, remove the graphics card and you won't be able to get online. Graphics card displays the screen. But yeah, java is mostly cpu and I still am not fully sure if better graphics card would do anything besides maybe displaying a bit better, maybe.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Thank you everybody for rising up against macroing!!!

#9
zonda
[ Display Name History ]

zonda

    Demon Vanquisher

  • Members
  • 2,009 posts
  • Location:Tech & Computers
  • Joined:22 July 2004

Yeah runescape does require a graphics card. I don't know if better works nicer for runescape but it does require a graphics card. This message requires one. If you don't believe me, and don't have an onboard card, remove the graphics card and you won't be able to get online. Graphics card displays the screen. But yeah, java is mostly cpu and I still am not fully sure if better graphics card would do anything besides maybe displaying a bit better, maybe.




Since you don't know what your talking about, don't post.

#10
runiburger
[ Display Name History ]

runiburger

    Rat Meat

  • Members
  • 45 posts
  • Location:Kinglake, Victoria, Australia
  • Joined:8 May 2006
My GeForce 7900gtx doesn't perform any better on runescape then my sister's 16mb onboard. :cry:
I like bees

#11
DocHopper
[ Display Name History ]

DocHopper

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Joined:2 March 2006
The graphics that RS needs are inherent in almost any video card (whether built onto a motherboard or in an add on card) for about the past 10 years. If you can run Windows 95 on your computer, you can play RS.



By graphics cards, you are talking 3d graphics accelerators and unless there is some parallax calculations going on then no, you don't need a fancy hi-powered 3d graphics card. Keep in mind tho, that if you DO have a fancy high powered video card, that it can do things for the CPU and could possibly speed up Windows on a whole, and thereby make RS faster in the process. But no 3d card should make RS faster without also making the whole system faster.



Basically, what everyone is saying is having a add-in graphics card usually makes Windows faster, but not specifically RS due to the fact that it is run using the Java engine. Java is an "interpreted language" and that in and of itself makes it (RS) slower than other games that are compiled. If you need more clarification, just drop me a line.



Doc
Posted Image




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users