School Plans on Buying Netbooks for its Students, Help

Hawks

My school district is planning on buying netbooks for all of its junior high students (they're getting a new building, and there was money left in the part designated for technology... why they can't spend money on buying MS office is beyond me but anyway)

Specs they've relesased: 80Mb hard drive, 3 yr warranty with an option to buy into some form of insurance plan. They hope for them to last 5-6 years.

Each kid will receive one netbook during their JH career. At the end of 8th grade, they turn it back into the JH, and get a new one in the fall which is theirs during their HS career (but they will turn it back in when they graduate)

Can you give me your thoughts on this? I am writing a letter to the technology coordinator addressing my concerns (I am a freshman in the district who will not be recieving a netbook but I have a younger brother who will... you could say this is spurred on by jelously... sorry for my awful spelling)

The tenative outline for my letter is below. I will be talking to some fellow students to find out their thoughts also.

[hide=Letter Outline]Netbooks.

Why/What

-Why did you decide to purchase netbooks for all JHS students?

-What do you invision these being used for?

-Can you give me more specific specifications? (OS, RAM, network capabilites)

-How do you think teachers will use this to their advantage?

Internet/Network Connections

-Will students be able to use these on the Internet?

-Will there be non-bypassable filters to prevent students from looking at objectionable content?

-How will this work if they log on at home to a wireless network or at the public library/McDonald's etc.?

-If students take their laptops home, do they just log into the laptop, or do they log into the school network somehow? How is this differentiated, because they have to be able to log into the school network, but also use it at home?

General Usage