My Graphics Card Sucks.

champion

So I bought this computer a little less than a year ago from Best Buy. The main reason my family got it for me is because it was cheap. Now that I've been playing more and more games with it, I've come to realize my graphics card is a piece of [cabbage]. I have to run low-requirement games on the lowest settings, and the playing is often choppy (I know that this isn't my internet's fault). In one particular online FPS game I play, other players get 200+ FPS while I literally get anywhere from 10 - 30. Don't even think about playing with Fraps on.

So I need to get a new graphics card, but I'm pretty much a complete newb when it comes to installing computer hardware and stuff like that. I know you can buy a graphics card online or in Best Buy, but that's where my knowledge ends. I don't know how to install one, if I need a new PSU, or what the [bleep] a PSU even is.

Here are my current specs:

2e24j00.png

un6sx.png

All I want is to be able to play semi-recent games (~5 years or less) so they don't look hideous or lag like hell. According to Google, this card was outdated like 3 years ago.

So here's where you come in. What new graphics card should I get? How do I install it? What else do I need to do to make it work? Again, I'm not looking for a top-of-the-line gaming PC, just something that makes the games bearable. My budget isn't very big, but I don't really have any set limit. Thanks in advance!

I believe that nForce means it is integrated, so it's a chip. in which case, You'll probably want to look at an Nvidia 9600GT/9800GT, as these cards both have good performance for the price. I'm not sure about ATi cards though, so I assume someone will be able to give you some advice.

Just out of curiosity, what slots do you still have open inside the PC's case? How many Old PCI, AGP, and/or PCI-Express? :huh:

~D. V. Devnull

tifuserbar-dsavi_x4.jpg and normally with a cool mind.