Another Desktop Computer Topic - Build Complete! Pics etc, last posts

Blake

I've been wanting a desktop computer for a while now, mainly for gaming and school things. I'm in my first year of a Computer Engineering major, and I thought that building my own computer would be a good experience. Right now, I have a macbook pro from 2 years ago, running Lion and 7 Ultimate through bootcamp, but I only have about 2gb left on my windows partition.

With Christmas coming around, I thought this would be a good time. I'd be looking at around $500 probably. These are a couple DIY combos on newegg I found, and I think this is what I'd be looking for. I'm not nessecarily just deciding between these two, they're just examples. Like I said, I'm mainly going to be using it for gaming, programming, and school stuff. I'd like to be able to run BF3, Skyrim, etc at mid-high settings if possible.

[hide]http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.692922&cm_sp=DIY_PC_Combos-_-692922-_-Combo

B2Xli.png

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.755265&cm_sp=DIY_PC_Combos-_-755265-_-Combo

IlZF4.png

[/hide]

How would those work for what I want? Is there anything I'm missing from that list that I would need to buy extra? I have a windows 7 ultimate OEM disc that I got for my bootcamp partition, would that work to install on a new computer? If not, I can most likely get another one, if the OEM will install and not have to be an upgrade.

I didn't put any list of parts together myself, because I don't really know much about cases, power supplies, cords I would need, and video cards. I wouldn't want to buy anything that wouldn't work together.

So, any advice for my first build?

Thanks!

EDIT: I just watched all three parts of Newegg's how to build a computer videos. I'll watch more later, I'm just a little worn out after 2.5 hours of it :P Other questions that I've thought of since are about hard drives and monitors.