One line posts?

Well i'm kinda new to Tip.It but don't confuse me for a forum 'newbie' because I do have experience with forums. Anyway i've spotted a problem with the users here and it happens with other forums. It is that people care more about there post counts than what they are writing 'Quantity over Quality', although evidently not with their posts.

It's really annoying when you invest a fair bit of time into a post and nobody really writes a proper reply to your thread. For example I made a topic in the General Board about scenic area's of Runescape and what your favourite 'scenic' area was. I asked people to explain why they liked it and perhaps post a picture. Most people replied with barely one line of post citing a name of a place and no real reason why they liked it. I thought I had left plenty of room for discussion but to no avail!

I was reading about a pking tournament aswell, some guy went to the trouble of posting that he didnt like pking and wasn't going to go. Why post? In the new Video games forum I posted a thread about a game I liked, leaving ample room for discussion, some people responded with one or two line of post explaining how they didnt like the game. When I asked them to expand and elaborate on what they meant they didn't post back.

I think subconsciously we all like to post alot to have more posts to be more respected and noticed. I noticed the 'Top Ten Posters' option on the memberslist for example. But I don't think that post count is helping the forum in anyway. I think we should scrap the current post count for a 'post point' system. Now i'm not a programmer but I have seen it on a another Runescape fan site, RSboards or something? Where basically the longer your post the more "points" you get. Meaning people that post say, one line of post get 'x' amount of posts while people that post several paragraphs get more points. It would have to be worthwhile to post more indepth posts though.