I want to start learning bass

Kalphite

I've been thinking about it for about a year now, but I've decided that I want to learn how to play bass guitar. The thing is that I have no idea where to start, as far as brands, amps, or anything like that. If it matters, I would mostly be using it for rock or metal, but I know it will likely be a long time before I can actually use it in a band.

I have an Ibanez bass and it works pretty well for me. The key to being successful is just to not give up. Even if you suck when you first pick it up, practice and you will get better and better.

I've been wanting to learn bass too but I can't afford it with all the tuition I have to pay. I play my friend's bass every now and then. Here's a helpful webpage/forum that you can read through http://ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=6 I always enjoy hearing about people trying new things. Good luck and stick with it!

Zaataar.png

I only started playing bass about a year ago, but I've been playing guitar for longer than that. I think a great starter bass is the Squier P-Bass. Great value for money. You could easily pick one up for $200-$300. I'd also recommend getting it in a package with an amp so you can get it all a bit cheaper.

You really don't need to start thinking about genre-specific instruments until you're a bit more advanced, so don't worry about buying a "metal" bass just yet.

Cool.

Mmm, P-Basses so sexy. Goodluck man, we need more decent bassists out there.

All basses bow down to the Rickenbacker 4001, with the ugly pickup cover removed of course. That's a stereo pickup under there, and the bass has two output jacks to run to left and right channels for that fat Ricky sound.

La lune ne garde aucune rancune.

I don't play bass, but I've seen my friend play and I've seen the brands that he uses so I'll just give you that info.