Jump to content

Was this email legit?


TheGreatGeno

Recommended Posts

Dear Player,

 

We have strong evidence that you may have purchased and used botting software in the past, specifically Botting software.

 

Botting and the cheating it brings is destroying your game, violates Jagex's rights under the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA), and any player that continues to engage in botting activity has no place in our community.

 

As part of bot nuke week we are offering you a 1 time amnesty and settlement lifeline, which is a chance to reform and change your ways. We'd like you to contribute to the community in a positive way, to compete on a level playing field as everyone else does and play in the true spirit of the game, with integrity. All of your accounts, main and otherwise, are now on our watch list and will be monitored for the use of ibot and all other inappropriate third-party software. Regardless of who you are or how long you've been with us, if you decide to cheat and bot ever again we will have no hesitation in: (1) permanently removing your account from our wonderful community in order to protect Jagex's rights under the DMCA, and (2) naming you as a defendant in Jagex Limited v. John Does, which is a lawsuit based on DMCA violations that is currently pending in the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California (Civ. Action No. SACV11-00969-CJC).

 

Please note that this amnesty and settlement offer is protected under Fed. R. Evid. 408. If you ignore our offer and instead continue use botting software, we reserve our rights to pursue statutory damages against you for between $200 to $2,500 per act of past, present, and/or future botting in accordance with 17 U.S.C. 1203©(3).

 

We do hope you make the morally sound and lawful choice of turning your back on bots. We look forward to seeing you in game having fun in a way that is true to the spirit of fair play and respectful to your fellow players.

 

To view the evidence please click here:

https://[LikelyScam]/m=weblogin/loginform.ws?mod=offence-appeal&ssl=1&expired=0&dest=index.ws

 

We do hope you make the morally sound and lawful choice of turning your back on bots. We look forward to seeing you in game having fun in a way that is true to the spirit of fair play and respectful to your fellow players.

 

Yours sincerely,

Mark Gerhard.

 

 

Screenshot: http://i43.tinypic.com/4keh5z.png

 

Doesn't seem like it, as my account still has 0 black marks according to to runescape.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Looks like the message Jagex sent out after Bot Nuking day to people they found to be botting. I believe this message should be in your message box in that case too, or so I've heard anyway.

 

Jagex don't show evidence as far as I know, though the link in the above post is legit. That said, it can appear legit and link to something else in the mail. To check you can hover your mouse over it, but you're best off to always log in via runescape.com, rather than use a link provided.

ms_julie.png

jafjepediasig.jpg

 

 

angel2w.gif Tip.It Website Crew Leader

[hide=Quotes]

I love it how Jafje comes outa nowhere and answers my questions

Hehe now we know what real life does...drugs, drugs, more drugs. Thank god we are addicted to something that won't kill us.

[/hide]

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yeah, although I was under the impression that they wouldn't contain links. The link is safe though as it does indeed link to Runescape.com

 

EDIT: Don't click on any links in the email. Instead go to the Runescape site and check from there.

j0xPu5R.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yeah, although I was under the impression that they wouldn't contain links. The link is safe though as it does indeed link to Runescape.com

Yes because OP copied the post. The link in his email will lead to a phishing site.

 

tl:dr Yes, it's a phishing site.

 

Ah, that's most likely the case then. Thanks for clarifying.

 

Yeah, it's most likely a scam email because as I remember the original one didn't contain links to ensure that it was a legitimate email, so I wouldn't recommend clicking on any links in the email. Instead go to the Runescape site and check manually.

j0xPu5R.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Jagex doesn't send you emails; only messages in your runescape inbox. I've gotten many emails like that and they all went to spam.

azeem1992.png

 

Really? Cause as I recall it was you who was the one cussing me at base. Also, re-read what you just said: one 15 second delay (which is an exaggeration to begin with) ruins floor times? You are beyond ridiculous.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Jagex doesn't send you emails; only messages in your runescape inbox. I've gotten many emails like that and they all went to spam.

 

They do send you Emails, however they're just advertisement ones. Any information regarding your account is sent to you via the in-game message system. Or so i'm told.

Hexiled Razz. Player since March 8th, 2005.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

TheGreatGeno, could you post up the message's source/headers for us here, please? Just copying displayed message text, and/or showing us a screenshot of the displayed final product, just isn't enough for anyone to truly tell you if something is a scam or not. :geek:

 

~D. V. "Please show what's under the hood! Can't tell you otherwise!" Devnull

tifuserbar-dsavi_x4.jpg and normally with a cool mind.

(Warning: This user can be VERY confusing to some people... And talks in 3rd person for the timebeing due to how insane they are... Sometimes even to themself.)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No this is the email you get if you bought iBot/Nexus bots, they do send you this email if they got your email address from their paypal case because it would be the one you used to purchase the bot. Not sure if this person's is legit, I wouldn't go to the link.

Laplacian.png
Link to comment
Share on other sites

No this is the email you get if you bought iBot/Nexus bots, they do send you this email if they got your email address from their paypal case because it would be the one you used to purchase the bot. Not sure if this person's is legit, I wouldn't go to the link.

That's what it's made to look like, but Jagex has said they'd NEVER send you e-mails with links. Chances are that this is just another one of the fake legit e-mails.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest jrhairychest

The link seems real. Same address as the login screen for appeals if you go to the RS site directly. Also digitally signed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It's a phish. This is what was sent from Jagex:

 

Hello everyone,

 

As a part of the update some people will have received the following e-mail communication:

 

Quote

"

Dear Player,

 

We have strong evidence that you may have purchased and used botting software in the past, specifically ibot software.

 

Botting and the cheating it brings is destroying your game, violates Jagex's rights under the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA), and any player that continues to engage in botting activity has no place in our community.

 

As part of bot nuke week we are offering you a 1 time amnesty and settlement lifeline, which is a chance to reform and change your ways. We'd like you to contribute to the community in a positive way, to compete on a level playing field as everyone else does and play in the true spirit of the game, with integrity. All of your accounts, main and otherwise, are now on our watch list and will be monitored for the use of ibot and all other inappropriate third-party software. Regardless of who you are or how long you've been with us, if you decide to cheat and bot ever again we will have no hesitation in: (1) permanently removing your account from our wonderful community in order to protect Jagex's rights under the DMCA, and (2) naming you as a defendant in Jagex Limited v. John Does, which is a lawsuit based on DMCA violations that is currently pending in the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California (Civ. Action No. SACV11-00969-CJC).

 

Please note that this amnesty and settlement offer is protected under Fed. R. Evid. 408. If you ignore our offer and instead continue use botting software, we reserve our rights to pursue statutory damages against you for between $200 to $2,500 per act of past, present, and/or future botting in accordance with 17 U.S.C. 1203©(3).

 

We do hope you make the morally sound and lawful choice of turning your back on bots. We look forward to seeing you in game having fun in a way that is true to the spirit of fair play and respectful to your fellow players.

 

Yours sincerely,

Mark Gerhard

 

I can confirm that this is an official statement from Jagex to the recipient.

 

Please note that there are no website links in the main body of the e-mail. Should you receive any e-mails that contain the above text with website links or additional information, they are likely to be phishing e-mails and should be ignored.

 

Kind regards,

Mod Timo

 

Notice how there's no "view the evidence here" link in the official message anywhere.

 

The QFC no longer works, but we were talking about it here when this announcement was made.

 

f2punitedfcbanner_zpsf83da077.png

THE place for all free players to connect, hang out and talk about how awesome it is to be F2P.

So, Kaida is the real version of every fictional science-badass? That explains a lot, actually...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.