Jump to content

Welcome to Rune Tips, the first ever RuneScape help site. We aim to offer skill guides, quest guides, maps, calculators, informative databases, tips, and much more to help you get the most from the Massive Online Adventure Game, RuneScape, by Jagex Ltd © 2009.

Report Ad

Welcome to Forum.Tip.It
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

How to record RS videos on a PC (hypercam)


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#1
weezcake
[ Display Name History ]

weezcake

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,069 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:24 May 2004
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:weezcake
(Updated: July 15, 2007)







(Note: If you're on a Mac, scroll to the bottom. I don't use a Mac and I haven't tried them. But they have been suggested to me.)







Step 1. Download and install HyperCam.







http://www.hypercam.com



Note: The free version will place "unregistered HyperCam" in the corner of your video. It does not show up on the full (paid) version.











Step 2. Select the Runescape window.







Open HyperCam 2. You will see a window that looks like this:







Posted Image







You can choose one of the buttons to select your window:







Select Region: This lets you drag your own custom sized window. I selected the Runescape game window only:



Posted Image







Select Window: This will select the window automatically. Note the white border that appears around the window when you select this option.



Posted Image











Step 3. Record + Edit.







Once you've selected an appropriate window, press F2 to start recording (for default settings). Press F2 again to stop recording. By default, your videos will be saved to the "My Documents" folder as Clip.avi







To edit, most users use Windows Movie Maker (but please, feel free to use your favorite).



Windows Movie Maker is located in Start -> All Programs -> Accessories



Or C:\Program Files\Movie Maker\moviemk.exe, if it's not there.







1. Drag your clip(s) into Windows Movie Maker.



2. Mess with them, edit them, cut, etc.



3. When you're done, select file-> Save Movie File. (.mpg or .wmv)



4. Select a reasonable filesize for your video.



5. Upload to your favorite file sharing website. Many people use:



Youtube: http://www.youtube.com



MegaUpload: http://www.megaupload.com



FileFront: http://www.filefront.com


============================







FAQ:







Runescape lags when I try to record a video. How do I fix this?







Unfortunately, screen recording programs take up a lot of your computer's resources to do so. These programs slow down your computer when you use them -- computers with faster processors, video cards, and more RAM will lag less when recording.







The only thing I can think of is to lower the Frames Per Second (FPS). By default, hypercam records 10FPS. Lowering this will making the play on Runescape smoother, but will make your video choppier.







How do I change the quality of my video?







There are a few things you can do. However, note that each of these will slow down your computer when recording.







- Increase the frames per second. More FPS = smoother video. However, this will cause more lag when recording with a slower computer.



- Increase the Frame Compression Quality. The default is 75%. If your computer can handle it, up to a higher number (100% is best). If it cannot, it will look like your Runescape has frozen until you press f2 to stop the recording.



- Select the Full Frames (no compression) video compressor (under the AVI tab). This will capture every single frame and will give you GREAT quality. However, because these files are uncompressed, they take up a big chunk of your hard drive. A 30-second (10FPS) uncompressed video is about 700mb. (1000mb = 1gb)






How do I record sound?







I have tried recording the sound in Runescape, but it doesn't seem to work. I'm not sure why. If someone could answer this question, then please post here.







=========================







Other programs:



Camtasia (30 day free trial, tutorial posted here)



ZD Soft Screen Recorder (5 minute limit w/ watermark on free version)


Mac Programs (tutorial):



iShowU



Display Eater


Linux:



xVidCap : I haven't used this, but it has been recommended for Linux users.










Please post any errors and/or anything I should add. Or suggestions.

==================================

Retired tip.it moderator.

Teaching and inspiring.


#2
Kaphias
[ Display Name History ]

Kaphias

    FL380

  • Members
  • 3,399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Alaska
  • Joined:9 October 2006
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Matt91493
Thanks, but I'm on a Mac.
Posted Image
8,325th to 99 Firemaking 3/9/08 | 44,811th to 99 Cooking 7/16/08
4,968th to 99 Farming 10/9/09 | Runescaper August 2005-March 2010
Tip.it Mod Feb. 2008-Sep. 2008 | Tip.it Crew Sep. 2008-Nov. 2009

#3
weezcake
[ Display Name History ]

weezcake

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,069 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:24 May 2004
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:weezcake
Can you use hypercam on a mac? If the program is different on a mac, I'll gladly add in mac sections.

==================================

Retired tip.it moderator.

Teaching and inspiring.


#4
Kaphias
[ Display Name History ]

Kaphias

    FL380

  • Members
  • 3,399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Alaska
  • Joined:9 October 2006
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Matt91493
I'll check right now if you can use it on a Mac...



EDIT: Hypercam is a no-can-do for Mac users.



EDIT 2: here are some from Apple.com that should work for Mac, though they are demos and sharewares.



http://www.apple.com...deo/ishowu.html



http://www.apple.com... ... eater.html
Posted Image
8,325th to 99 Firemaking 3/9/08 | 44,811th to 99 Cooking 7/16/08
4,968th to 99 Farming 10/9/09 | Runescaper August 2005-March 2010
Tip.it Mod Feb. 2008-Sep. 2008 | Tip.it Crew Sep. 2008-Nov. 2009

#5
Cameron
[ Display Name History ]

Cameron

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 3,872 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Australia m8 ;) Joined: Nov 2002 Gender: Male
  • Joined:18 June 2004
  • RuneScape Status:None
A tip: when taking screenshots of almost anything except a photograph, PNG images will give you far better quality for lower filesize than jpeg.

#6
Kaphias
[ Display Name History ]

Kaphias

    FL380

  • Members
  • 3,399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Alaska
  • Joined:9 October 2006
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Matt91493

A tip: when taking screenshots of almost anything except a photograph, PNG images will give you far better quality for lower filesize than jpeg.




Really? I'll have to check that out.



I thought that .gif gave a low filesize too, but a lower quality.
Posted Image
8,325th to 99 Firemaking 3/9/08 | 44,811th to 99 Cooking 7/16/08
4,968th to 99 Farming 10/9/09 | Runescaper August 2005-March 2010
Tip.it Mod Feb. 2008-Sep. 2008 | Tip.it Crew Sep. 2008-Nov. 2009

#7
Stuart_G
[ Display Name History ]

Stuart_G

    Bear Fur

  • Members
  • 440 posts
  • Location:Mildura, Victoria, Australia
  • Joined:1 October 2004
The ZD Soft link weez supplied was different to mine and is only a trial which has a 5 minute limit and will have a watermark imprinted to your video, but it should still do the job fine if you want an alternative to Hypercam.
Posted Image

#8
Nadril
[ Display Name History ]

Nadril

    Post Junkie

  • Members
  • 23,966 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kansas
  • Joined:20 June 2004
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
Nice job on the sticky weez. :)







Also I should mention that for other games that are based on a client, Fraps is deffinitly the way to go. :wink:

#9
manitstinks
[ Display Name History ]

manitstinks

    Demon Vanquisher

  • Members
  • 2,413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SAN FRANCISCO
  • Joined:1 October 2006
  • RuneScape Status:None
  • RSN:manitstinks
=D> Wut took u guys so long to make it?
Posted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image

#10
Jard_Y_Dooku
[ Display Name History ]

Jard_Y_Dooku

    Hobgoblin Killer

  • Members
  • 1,700 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:5 September 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Jard Y Dooku
CamStudio, found here: http://sourceforge.n...ects/camstudio/ is absolutely EXCELLENT. Free, open-source (SourceForge ftw) and no nonsense watermarks.







I HIGHLY recommend downloading the CamStudio lossless codec as well, so you can make videos with lossless compression... so they don't look like a bunch of JPEGS (gross!). Lossless ftw.







Just a note: the player has a small bug where it deletes a section of the video when watching it, however the actual file is NOT corrupted so if you watch it in Windows Media Player or any other player, it's fine.







EDIT: Another bug I found: recording takes out a 1 pixel high and (half of video width) pixel wide section of the video when recording; this seems to actually be in the video.







I have my C++ book on my desk and Visual Studio 2005 Standard is awaiting shipping from Amazon so hopefully I'll be able to fire it up and fix a few bugs!
  • Never trust anyone. You are always alone, and betrayal is inevitable.
  • Nothing is safe from the jaws of the decompiler.

#11
pureprayer
[ Display Name History ]

pureprayer

    Banned

  • Banned
  • 3,968 posts
  • Joined:28 December 2006
how do you post it

#12
Olgath
[ Display Name History ]

Olgath

    Spider Egg

  • Members
  • 69 posts
  • Joined:1 June 2005
For linux users, I suggest Wink or Istanbul.



Wink writes to swf files, and Istanbul writes to ogg vorbis, which can be converted to other formats using vlc, etc.

#13
lotuslord212
[ Display Name History ]

lotuslord212

    Bear Fur

  • Members
  • 301 posts
  • Location:Moving to mars!!
  • Joined:31 August 2006
How do I save the clip that I recorded?







:?:











And does it record the sound of the thing itself or the sound that we make outside??







For example, If I like a scene of a movie and I record it, does the movies sound gets recorded ??
????ClAn????wHaT iS iT???

#14
dude_of_war4
[ Display Name History ]

dude_of_war4

    Skeleton Shield

  • Members
  • 1,086 posts
  • Location:Wasting away at my computer.....
  • Joined:15 June 2006
there are a few of the downloads and i dunno which one to get. there number 2 for english but it seems to cost, is this true?
Posted Image
click my sig for my blog!!!

Thanks everyone for the sigs they pwn!

No. Why should i give presents for someone in rs?

Most selfish thing I've ever heard

#15
josh181830
[ Display Name History ]

josh181830

    Scorpion Pit

  • Members
  • 528 posts
  • Joined:17 February 2007
whenver i use hypercam my runescape screen just freezes when i start recording...is this just because my cpu sux?

#16
weezcake
[ Display Name History ]

weezcake

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,069 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:24 May 2004
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:weezcake

how do you post it








Added Step 5: Uploading your file







whenver i use hypercam my runescape screen just freezes when i start recording...is this just because my cpu sux?








Hypercam uses a lot of RAM, so it may be that your computer isn't up to the task of recording.







there are a few of the downloads and i dunno which one to get. there number 2 for english but it seems to cost, is this true?








Yes, camtasia is only a trial. It is free for the first 30 days then you have to buy it if you want to keep using it.







How do I save the clip that I recorded?







Question











And does it record the sound of the thing itself or the sound that we make outside??







For example, If I like a scene of a movie and I record it, does the movies sound gets recorded ??








Well I tried it just now with my winamp on and it didn't record my music. I don't have any time to try RS right now, but I will try it eventually and give you an answer :)

==================================

Retired tip.it moderator.

Teaching and inspiring.


#17
Macmaster92
[ Display Name History ]

Macmaster92

    Skeleton Shield

  • Members
  • 1,248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OC, California
  • Joined:23 March 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Mac Master92

I'll check right now if you can use it on a Mac...



EDIT: Hypercam is a no-can-do for Mac users.



EDIT 2: here are some from Apple.com that should work for Mac, though they are demos and sharewares.



http://www.apple.com...deo/ishowu.html



http://www.apple.com... ... eater.html








Thanks for putting those links up there. I downloaded them but they dont seem to work. Whenever i go to start them they do the animation (bounce up and down in the application bar) But then they just stop. It seems they wont open.







And yes i am running on a mac



<-------------------------
Posted Image

#18
Myridden
[ Display Name History ]

Myridden

    Unicorn Horn

  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • Location:...
  • Joined:10 November 2006
is hypercam free? by the looks of it it costs some money.







But you never said it was free.. :-k
"I am free of all prejudices. I hate every one equally." -W. C. Fields

#19
weezcake
[ Display Name History ]

weezcake

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,069 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:24 May 2004
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:weezcake

I'll check right now if you can use it on a Mac...



EDIT: Hypercam is a no-can-do for Mac users.



EDIT 2: here are some from Apple.com that should work for Mac, though they are demos and sharewares.



http://www.apple.com...deo/ishowu.html



http://www.apple.com... ... eater.html








Thanks for putting those links up there. I downloaded them but they dont seem to work. Whenever i go to start them they do the animation (bounce up and down in the application bar) But then they just stop. It seems they wont open.







And yes i am running on a mac



<-------------------------








Anyone with a Mac confirm this? If so Ill remove them from the sticky.







is hypercam free? by the looks of it it costs some money.







But you never said it was free.. :-k








Yes it is. The free one will have "unregistered version" on the top left corner of your video though.

==================================

Retired tip.it moderator.

Teaching and inspiring.


#20
Birdd
[ Display Name History ]

Birdd

    Bear Fur

  • Members
  • 370 posts
  • Joined:21 October 2005
Anyone have a good editing program for Windows that's free? Windows Movie Maker can't do what I want it to.
Posted Image
Levels




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users