Macroers, blah blah blah

Scorpiona

Just looking here, I'm seeing hundreds of people complaining about macroers, and giving so-so "solutions" to the problem. A quick search returns thousands more posts like this, and I'm forced to ask myself if anyone has looked at the big picture here.

Lots of people have posted very creative, if ineffective, ideas to add a speed bump to the free ride that macroers have been getting, but since the majority of people here don't seem to know much if anything about RuneScape cheating, I don't think they truly understand the problem they're facing.

I've been cheating in RuneScape for over 4 years, although I stopped after creating my latest main. Many of these suggests are essentially new randoms, small annoyances that will not actually deter botting players except for a few days while their scripts are being updated to include them. Many people seem to think that macroers are some king of dumb, "click-move-click-bank" system which will be fooled by a simple thingummywhat. Such macros exist, but bots, REAL bots, are advanced scripting engines that allow cheaters to write their own commands to macro. They have anti-randoms, and will solve virtually any problem that comes their way, and if they can't deal with it, they log out and switch to a next pre-prepared macroing account and leave their owner to deal with the broken one.

Also, you have to understand the drive of macroers: to be able to make money without doing real work. That's all there is to it, money. After macroing goods for themselves, macroers either sell it for GP, or transfer the items to their main for their use.

I think everyone is getting off-center, you can't truly stop macroers, because whatever anti-macro protection you add, if a normal human is still able to get past it, a macroer will be able to as well. However, that being said, I think there is one often overlooked problem with macroing:

It's self-destructive.