Foreign Language Advice Needed

pbjdude91

Alright, first a little background. I'm going into my junior year of High School, and also my fourth year of German. I consider myself fluent in German right now: I've read the first three Harry Potter books in German, speak it and write it fluently, and looking at the AP German Language exam, it was quite simple. Last summer, I even had a native German ask me whether or not I spoke English. Apparently, she was unsure whether or not I was actually German.

This is my dilemma. I'm looking into learning Latin right now, and I've been considering this for about 3 months now. I have no background to it at all, and am fully aware of the "difficulty" of the language. I started looking around for books, and decided on Wheelock's Latin. I've had a growing question though, will it mess with my German? Some people on the internet have said that it will, but they were talking about learning Spanish and Italian at the same time, which are closely related languages. I know German and Latin are not in the same family of languages, so if anyone has any experience with this, please help me.

TL;DR Will learning Latin mess with German?

This is my original signature. You can't touch this.

If you're fluent enough in German (Which you can tell by when you have dreams in that language), then would probably be the same as learning German from English. English has Germanic roots, which has Latin roots, so that might help as well.