Jump to content

Welcome to Rune Tips, the first ever RuneScape help site. We aim to offer skill guides, quest guides, maps, calculators, informative databases, tips, and much more to help you get the most from the Massive Online Adventure Game, RuneScape, by Jagex Ltd © 2009.

Report Ad

Welcome to Forum.Tip.It
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

How important is RAM?


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

Poll: Poll (0 member(s) have cast votes)

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1
SirHartlar
[ Display Name History ]

SirHartlar

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 3,692 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Joined:3 December 2005
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
I'm getting myself a new PC soon, but I was wondering which of the following is the best RAM to put in? The second one is £50 more expensive and I don't know if the extra speed warrants that boost in price. I'll be using the PC for some top-end games, but nothing amazing.



4096MB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM - (2x 2GB)

8192MB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM - (4 x 2GB)

#2
sloter
[ Display Name History ]

sloter

    Skeleton Shield

  • Members
  • 1,072 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:11 November 2007
  • RuneScape Status:None

I'm getting myself a new PC soon, but I was wondering which of the following is the best RAM to put in? The second one is £50 more expensive and I don't know if the extra speed warrants that boost in price. I'll be using the PC for some top-end games, but nothing amazing.



4096MB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM - (2x 2GB)

8192MB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM - (4 x 2GB)


If your willing to spend the extra $50 just go with the 8GB.

#3
p51mustang23
[ Display Name History ]

p51mustang23

    Spider Egg

  • Members
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:world 89
  • Joined:2 October 2006
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
well, since ur computer will have 4 RAM slots, you can always add the extra 4gb later. For current games I would imagine that 4gb is enough, but if you want to be prepared for future software then maybe consider the 8gb? I dont run any high end games tho, so I'm not all too familiar with their system requirements.
Robin hood x1 - D left half x1 - Karils coif x1
Sara plate x1 - D legs x1 - Black mask x2
Zammy plate x1 - Torags hammers x1 - granite maul x1
Red mystic top x2 - Red mystic bottom x 6 -
__________________________________

Posted Image

#4
OldJoe
[ Display Name History ]

OldJoe

    Moss Giant Whipper

  • Members
  • 2,922 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Suecia
  • Joined:2 January 2007
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Joedeby
Get 4gb (and a 64bit OS!).

If you are a heavy user of Corel or Photoshop, then 8gb.

J'adore aussi le sexe et les snuff movies
Je trouve que ce sont des purs moments de vie
Je ne me reconnais plus dans les gens
Je suis juste un cas désespérant
Et comme personne ne viendra me réclamer
Je terminerai comme un objet retrouvé


#5
Dracion1
[ Display Name History ]

Dracion1

    Varrock Guard

  • Members
  • 1,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Joined:8 December 2005
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
At the moment, you won't notice much difference between 4GB and 8GB when gaming. In a couple of years the extra 4GB may be useful but not at the moment. I'd suggest going with 4GB now (and a 64 bit OS so you can use all of it) and then you can always add an extra 4GB later.
Posted Image

"In the beginning, the universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move."


#6
pryomancer
[ Display Name History ]

pryomancer

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,561 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Joined:27 October 2004
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
The '800' part is the data transfers per second. In this case, 800 million. Spending a bit more and purchasing a DDR2-1066 stick (1066 million, I.E. 1 billion+ per second) will also increase your RAM effectiveness.
Posted Image

#7
dsavi
[ Display Name History ]

dsavi

    Dragon Slayer

  • Members
  • 6,868 posts
  • Joined:30 July 2006
I'd jump at the chance to double the RAM for just 50 pounds. But then, I use my computer for a lot of 3D.

C2b6gs7.png


#8
Nadril
[ Display Name History ]

Nadril

    Post Junkie

  • Members
  • 23,966 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kansas
  • Joined:20 June 2004
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
Yeah it's not a terrible price. May as well.

#9
obfuscator
[ Display Name History ]

obfuscator

    Tanned Caveman

  • Members
  • 20,231 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:6 March 2008
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
I doubled the ram on my laptop for $100, and it was worth every cent. Even if you aren't a hardcore photoshop user you will still notice a difference, especially when windows loads up.

polvCwJ.gif
"It's not a rest for me, it's a rest for the weights." - Dom Mazzetti


#10
pryomancer
[ Display Name History ]

pryomancer

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,561 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Joined:27 October 2004
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
Remember obviously that RAM is only good up to a point, it's overkill to load your mobo with 32GB RAM when your pc will only ever need 5-6GB of it maximum.
Posted Image

#11
thrash-boy
[ Display Name History ]

thrash-boy

    Scorpion Pit

  • Members
  • 580 posts
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Joined:20 May 2005
instead of getting 8gb, just get the 4gb but get some that is faster.

also make sure your using a 64bit OS as stated above several times. if you go 4gb you will only lose about 700-800mb of ram, but if you go 8gb you will not be able to use 4.7-4.8gb. so basically if you have a 32 bit OS, dont bother getting 8gb because it will have NO benefit what so ever. its best to go 64 though

#12
dsavi
[ Display Name History ]

dsavi

    Dragon Slayer

  • Members
  • 6,868 posts
  • Joined:30 July 2006
^ No way man, 8GB of DDR2 is far faster than 4GB DDR3 + 4GB swap.

C2b6gs7.png


#13
Laura
[ Display Name History ]

Laura

    Cor Aut Mors

  • Members
  • 3,425 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Home is where the Army sends you.
  • Joined:18 July 2007
  • RuneScape Status:None

^ No way man, 8GB of DDR2 is far faster than 4GB DDR3 + 4GB swap.


But it sounds like overkill, since it doesn't sound like the OP is doing much in the way of "amazing." I don't think he'll use all of the memory he's buying if he goes with 8GB.
Posted Image

#14
thrash-boy
[ Display Name History ]

thrash-boy

    Scorpion Pit

  • Members
  • 580 posts
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Joined:20 May 2005

^ No way man, 8GB of DDR2 is far faster than 4GB DDR3 + 4GB swap.


true, but if your only using the computer for things that will never require anymore than 3 or 4gb, its better to just have 4gb of faster ram.

#15
blade995
[ Display Name History ]

blade995

    Ghost Cloak

  • Members
  • 1,897 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts, USA
  • Joined:24 June 2004

^ No way man, 8GB of DDR2 is far faster than 4GB DDR3 + 4GB swap.


true, but if your only using the computer for things that will never require anymore than 3 or 4gb, its better to just have 4gb of faster ram.




Getting faster ram than DDR2 800 (or 1066 now a days) is usually a lot more expensive and you don't notice a performance increase over slower ram. Especially on Intel boards because the fsb is usually bottlenecking the ram.



My suggestion is DDR2 800 or 1066 (if your motherboard supports it) of 4GB of ram. You can always upgrade later to 8GB of ram and it will be even cheaper then.
Posted Image

#16
OnIIx
[ Display Name History ]

OnIIx

    Goblin Armour

  • Members
  • 123 posts
  • Location:New Zealand (Add me all NZ'ers :D)
  • Joined:7 January 2009
  • RSN2:onyx7890
Listen.



Do NOT get 8GB of say 6-6-6-18 DDR2 800MHz. Now that is slow.



The timings (6-6-6-18), the higher the slower, so 2-2-2-12 would be sweet, DDR2 800MHz :D



I'm getting: http://www.crucial.c... ... 25664AR80A

Far out you Americans are lucky, this gonna cost a fortune to import :l


Current goal: Legends, Regicide, Roving Elf's, Barrows RFD, 95+ Attack.

#17
dsavi
[ Display Name History ]

dsavi

    Dragon Slayer

  • Members
  • 6,868 posts
  • Joined:30 July 2006

^ No way man, 8GB of DDR2 is far faster than 4GB DDR3 + 4GB swap.


true, but if your only using the computer for things that will never require anymore than 3 or 4gb, its better to just have 4gb of faster ram.


...And get screwed later when you find out that technology actually advances and suddenly you need every kilobyte. No thank you.

C2b6gs7.png


#18
Laura
[ Display Name History ]

Laura

    Cor Aut Mors

  • Members
  • 3,425 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Home is where the Army sends you.
  • Joined:18 July 2007
  • RuneScape Status:None


^ No way man, 8GB of DDR2 is far faster than 4GB DDR3 + 4GB swap.


true, but if your only using the computer for things that will never require anymore than 3 or 4gb, its better to just have 4gb of faster ram.


...And get screwed later when you find out that technology actually advances and suddenly you need every kilobyte. No thank you.


But if he buy 2x2GB, then there's room for more. And, once we reach the point where 8GB is as common or needed at 2GB, I'm sure it would be cheaper. :?
Posted Image

#19
MHVishal
[ Display Name History ]

MHVishal

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Location:India
  • Joined:25 April 2009
RAM is an important - or more important than -clock speed. Head over to somewhere like dealram.com and buy at least another 256 MB (I'd go for 512). If you're only doing basic stuff, the extra 256 will be enough. If you're using any more powerful applications (Photoshop, even iMovie), then you'll want the extra 512.
Read our Web Hosting FAQ to learn more about quality Web Hosting




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users