Summoning Shards Price

fenrir321

My question is why did Jagex put a pouch swap for shards in Gutanoth? By this point a lot of people will think I'm a noob. My question isn't about the swap system itself; I know very well why (to get rid of the hundreds of millions of pouches gathering dust never to see the light of day in a bank.) My question is why would jagex put a swap for SHARDS? I'd rather have cash instead of shards, and selling the shards is very tedious as they can't be sold on the Grand Exchange and doing so on the forums will be very slow since most people junk trade with shards. I also think that trading for cash is better because of these simple facts:

I bought 20,646 shards for 516,150 gp.

By adding all of the shards I get from the swap til .7^6 power, I have effectively used 59k+ shards. WHAT'S THE DEAL, JAGEX?! I just spent an average of 9gp per shard! Isn't that overpowered considering that the original price was 50 gp ea?

I'm just so confused at their action. On one hand exchanging for cash would basically put no supply of pouches/scrolls in the market. On the other hand I spent 500k for an amount of shards that would normally be 1.5 million gp with 2k shards left over for crafting miscellaneous familiars while still using the exact number of charms and secondaries as if I had just bought the 59k shards right off the bat.

menea_reuter.pnglinkresponsewb2.th.jpg

I'm going to use the Shards later on anyway. If I want money, I'll either alch the pouches or make scrolls and junk trade.

Lugia_Lvl138.png

4x Phat owner: Blue, Green, 2x Purple

3100+ GWD bosses soloed.

Solo GWD Drops:

5 Bandos Plates, 4 Bandos Boots, 3 Bandos Hilts, 2 Arma Helms, Arma Skirt, Arma Plate, 3 Arma Hilts, 4 Zammy Spears, Steam Staff, 15 Sara Swords, 6 Sara Hilts, 29 Shards.