What do you write your programs in?

Skill_Caster

Hey fellow coders... over the years I've self-taught myself many languages of code, and I'd like to consider myself very skilled. However, my problem is, I only know web and engine-based languages - ex. php, Javascript, and random engine-specific codes. That's great if I want to build a sweet website, or mod a custom gun into a game - but I want to do more.

What I'd like to do is learn a 'program' programming code (C++/Python/Java) so that I can design and develop personal projects that run on systems... not web browsers or with-in other programs. I want to be able to make personal chat clients, widgets, games, and so on. I'm assuming most of you have already grasped what I'm asking, because I've read up on the 'What are your current projects?' thread in this subforum.

So, what do I do? I know a bit about the aforementioned codes but I don't know which one(s) I should learn... my friend recommends Python, but that has to run through an interpreter all the time, doesn't it? - So I wouldn't be able to compile my projects and distrubte them to friends (or so I think).

Thanks for your help and time in advance,

- Skilly

tipitsig.png

Hey fellow coders... over the years I've self-taught myself many languages of code, and I'd like to consider myself very skilled. However, my problem is, I only know web and engine-based languages - ex. php, Javascript, and random engine-specific codes. That's great if I want to build a sweet website, or mod a custom gun into a game - but I want to do more.

What I'd like to do is learn a 'program' programming code (C++/Python/Java) so that I can design and develop personal projects that run on systems... not web browsers or with-in other programs. I want to be able to make personal chat clients, widgets, games, and so on. I'm assuming most of you have already grasped what I'm asking, because I've read up on the 'What are your current projects?' thread in this subforum.