Jump to content

Welcome to Rune Tips, the first ever RuneScape help site. We aim to offer skill guides, quest guides, maps, calculators, informative databases, tips, and much more to help you get the most from the Massive Online Adventure Game, RuneScape, by Jagex Ltd © 2009.

Report Ad

Welcome to Forum.Tip.It
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

So, what is your current project(s)


  • Please log in to reply
169 replies to this topic

#1
sees_all1
[ Display Name History ]

sees_all1

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,961 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:26 June 2007
  • RuneScape Status:None
I'm interested in hearing what everyone is up to.

At work right now, I'm programming an xlet (java applet for bluray players and tru2way cable box) to test features of a cable box.
For my robotics team, I'm helping to program logic to make mecanum wheels work with a gyro (do a search for airtrax, its some of the weirdest stuff ever).
At home, I'm starting to look for a new project, I might do something that interprets text on screen.

What are you up to?

99 dungeoneering achieved, thanks to everyone that celebrated with me!

 

♪♪ Don't interrupt me as I struggle to complete this thought
Have some respect for someone more forgetful than yourself ♪♪

♪♪ And I'm not done
And I won't be till my head falls off ♪♪


#2
dsavi
[ Display Name History ]

dsavi

    Dragon Slayer

  • Members
  • 6,869 posts
  • Joined:30 July 2006
About 30 seconds ago I started a project for a text editor in C to teach myself the basics. Don't expect much. :razz:

C2b6gs7.png


#3
JoeDaStudd
[ Display Name History ]

JoeDaStudd

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In front of you
  • Joined:12 August 2005
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:joe da studd
Current work project is to create there company website. Sounds simple until they made the designer redundant (I suck at large scale designs from scratch) and switched the web server.
All done original using asp (which I had to learn from scratch as my boss called php "riddled with wholes and a non-professional language") running from an access database (again my bosses choice).
Re-doing it using php, ajax and mysql as well as adding a few nice touches (CKEditor for one) to reduce future issue, since my boss who set the silly restrictions got made redundant.

A few personal projects which I'm bouncing between some interesting things, but nothing complete or nearly complete as yet.
Drops
Stats

#4
The Runar
[ Display Name History ]

The Runar

    Varrock Guard

  • Members
  • 1,343 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Tampere, Finland
  • Joined:3 June 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:The Runar
  • RSN '07:Old Runar

All done original using asp (which I had to learn from scratch as my boss called php "riddled with wholes and a non-professional language") running from an access database (again my bosses choice).


Aren't PHP and MySQL like the standards for both amateur and professional websites of any kind?

#5
RSBDavid
[ Display Name History ]

RSBDavid

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,113 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:18 April 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Davidd
I an working on a note taking application. I am going to take a break from that and do some core features of a game I want to do later on.

Posted Image

[Software Engineer] - [Ability Bar Suggestion] - [Gaming Enthusiast]


#6
dsavi
[ Display Name History ]

dsavi

    Dragon Slayer

  • Members
  • 6,869 posts
  • Joined:30 July 2006

All done original using asp (which I had to learn from scratch as my boss called php "riddled with wholes and a non-professional language") running from an access database (again my bosses choice).


Aren't PHP and MySQL like the standards for both amateur and professional websites of any kind?

Large enterprise applications often use Java EE for extremely large-scale service, especially where there are hundreds of servers involved. For example, if one node fails, your request can be rolled on to another node, something that PHP would have difficulty doing.

To me I wouldn't use it unless you really need it, because the whole thing sounds too much like Dilbert.

C2b6gs7.png


#7
obfuscator
[ Display Name History ]

obfuscator

    Tanned Caveman

  • Members
  • 20,231 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:6 March 2008
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
Yo bballer, wanna collab on a game?

Currently I'm working(on and off, have very little time) on a little desktop widget full of useful stuff.
So far my list is
  • Password generator - basics done, need to allow it to not reuse letters, i want to use it to make keys for #2
  • basic file encryption - started
Other than that, I'm writing an application to run on my server that lets me create and edit html, css and php files remotely. Sort of like a combination of an ftp client and text editor. I'm nowhere near being done that a I do that while at work and I can't test php...done the basic html/css/javascript though.
Tbh, I doubt I'll finish the above one.

Aside from that, its been on my mind to develop a library application for the books in my house - my parents have over 10,000 and it can be a huge hassle to find them etc.

polvCwJ.gif
"It's not a rest for me, it's a rest for the weights." - Dom Mazzetti


#8
Diesel
[ Display Name History ]

Diesel

    Moss Giant Whipper

  • Members
  • 2,797 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Joined:1 October 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Dadieseldude
  • Clan:FnL
Like I said in another topic, I'm working on a Tic-Tac-Toe program for school. As of now, the basic game is complete (board, X/O characters, turn designation), but I still need to code the part to check for win/loss/tie as well as the AI. (The AI is optional, but I still really want to do it.)

Still working the rust off from my 1 year programming break. I fell back in love with booleans today as they were extremely useful in ridding my game of errors.
Posted Image
Last.Fm

My Bloggy

Proud to have served on Tip.it Crew

#9
RSBDavid
[ Display Name History ]

RSBDavid

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,113 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:18 April 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Davidd

Yo bballer, wanna collab on a game?



No thank you. I am not building the game for awhile, I am just building the backbone/framework/base/engine for a tile-based game.

Posted Image

[Software Engineer] - [Ability Bar Suggestion] - [Gaming Enthusiast]


#10
The Runar
[ Display Name History ]

The Runar

    Varrock Guard

  • Members
  • 1,343 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Tampere, Finland
  • Joined:3 June 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:The Runar
  • RSN '07:Old Runar
I'm making a four in a row game with my friend. I just wrote the code for loading and showing the board, hopefully I can make the game playable this weekend. Because it's so simple it shouldn't be a problem though. After that we'll begin creating the fun stuff, some stuff we have planned include:

  • AI opponents of varying difficulties
  • Boards of different sizes
  • Multiple tilesets to choose from
  • Possibly some special moves

EDIT: It works! :thumbsup:

Posted Image

It's not pretty, but it doesn't matter right now :)

#11
Toshiba
[ Display Name History ]

Toshiba

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego, CA
  • Joined:20 June 2008
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Eagle Punch


All done original using asp (which I had to learn from scratch as my boss called php "riddled with wholes and a non-professional language") running from an access database (again my bosses choice).


Aren't PHP and MySQL like the standards for both amateur and professional websites of any kind?

Large enterprise applications often use Java EE for extremely large-scale service, especially where there are hundreds of servers involved. For example, if one node fails, your request can be rolled on to another node, something that PHP would have difficulty doing.

To me I wouldn't use it unless you really need it, because the whole thing sounds too much like Dilbert.


Not necessarily. With Cloud services you can copy data from one server to another with ease. LAMP servers granted, are harder to configure to work across multiple servers, but once they're setup... they'll take on anything.

Facebook anyone? Massive PHP application. Plus, mySQL offers Master / Slave so you can split databases across multi core processors.
@Robertoross
I've been playing for a while but I take extended breaks a lot =P
Was one of the first to break 99 Runecrafting. Top 200 =)

#12
dsavi
[ Display Name History ]

dsavi

    Dragon Slayer

  • Members
  • 6,869 posts
  • Joined:30 July 2006
I can't see myself ever using anything other than PHP or possibly Python for web programming in the foreseeable future unless I'm paid to do something else like Java or .NET. (I really hope not)

PHP is looked on as an "amateur" programming language for some reason by some companies, though and I'm not sure why. Maybe PHP < version 4 were, but not PHP5 and definitely not PHP6.

C2b6gs7.png


#13
obfuscator
[ Display Name History ]

obfuscator

    Tanned Caveman

  • Members
  • 20,231 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:6 March 2008
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
Jsp is ridiculously out of date for web programming.

Never done anything with .net though.

polvCwJ.gif
"It's not a rest for me, it's a rest for the weights." - Dom Mazzetti


#14
Cloak
[ Display Name History ]

Cloak

    Chicken Feather

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Joined:21 January 2010
Working on my fansite as of right now, along with a few other things in my spare time.

#15
Diesel
[ Display Name History ]

Diesel

    Moss Giant Whipper

  • Members
  • 2,797 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Joined:1 October 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Dadieseldude
  • Clan:FnL
A little update on my Tic-Tac-Toe program. My programming partner suggested that we make it Spongebob themed. So now Spongebob is the "O" character and Patrick is the "X" character. Winning conditions are finished and we added the Mr. Crabs robot theme as the background music. "The Best Day Ever" plays if 3 Spongebobs are in a row and the "Wumbo" scene plays if 3 Patricks are in a row. The "Wah, wah, wahhh" clip plays if there's a click outside the board or in an occupied space.

It may sound a bit childish, but it's quite humorous.

I've scrapped the AI because my teacher added another requirement. When the winning conditions are met, the winning combination's symbols on the board need to spin. I have no idea how to approach this. Any suggestions?
Posted Image
Last.Fm

My Bloggy

Proud to have served on Tip.it Crew

#16
stonewall337
[ Display Name History ]

stonewall337

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 3,681 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Joined:17 September 2007
  • RuneScape Status:Retired
  • RSN:Stonewall337
  • Clan:<Killing Time> of Dawnbringer
Learning C++. It can be tough without someone to ask for help.

Stonewall337.png

Drops

#17
sees_all1
[ Display Name History ]

sees_all1

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,961 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:26 June 2007
  • RuneScape Status:None

I've scrapped the AI because my teacher added another requirement. When the winning conditions are met, the winning combination's symbols on the board need to spin. I have no idea how to approach this. Any suggestions?


Are you using a loop to implement the game, or is it just click/event based?
If its a game loop, that's rather trivial, if its click / event based, good luck.
Let me know.

99 dungeoneering achieved, thanks to everyone that celebrated with me!

 

♪♪ Don't interrupt me as I struggle to complete this thought
Have some respect for someone more forgetful than yourself ♪♪

♪♪ And I'm not done
And I won't be till my head falls off ♪♪


#18
Diesel
[ Display Name History ]

Diesel

    Moss Giant Whipper

  • Members
  • 2,797 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Joined:1 October 2006
  • RuneScape Status:P2P
  • RSN:Dadieseldude
  • Clan:FnL


I've scrapped the AI because my teacher added another requirement. When the winning conditions are met, the winning combination's symbols on the board need to spin. I have no idea how to approach this. Any suggestions?


Are you using a loop to implement the game, or is it just click/event based?
If its a game loop, that's rather trivial, if its click / event based, good luck.
Let me know.


A mousedown event in Rectangle objects that triggers a case switch depending on which rectangle the click is in and whose turn it is.

The winning conditions check is a giant loop

I don't have the code on my home computer or else I'd post some of it.
Posted Image
Last.Fm

My Bloggy

Proud to have served on Tip.it Crew

#19
Veiva
[ Display Name History ]

Veiva

    Demon Vanquisher

  • Members
  • 2,345 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:18 November 2004
My current project doesn't have anything to show for it, besides code... It's an OpenGL framework for a rendering program (the program renders on the GPU, so it doesn't provide as realistic results as, say, a ray tracer, but to be honest, I want to see what the models would look like in a game). I can provide a pretty example of code, however (this example leaves out all the intricacies, such as loading the mesh and all, but that stuff is easy as pie, too):

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;

using CommaExcess.lowPoly.Graphics;
using CommaExcess.lowPoly.Model;

namespace CommaExcess.TestSuite
{
	public partial class TestModel : TestForm
	{
		public TestModel()
		{
			InitializeComponent();
			LoadTestDefaults();
		}
		
		protected void renderButton_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
		{
			if (IsLoaded)
			{
				Shader.Bind(); // Protected variable exposed by TestForm; bind the shader
				Framebuffer.Bind(); // Same as Shader; bind the framebuffer object
				
				Shader.Set("lowPoly_CurrentLights", LightCount); // Set some shader settings
				Shader.Set("lowPoly_Lights", Lights);
				Shader.Set("lowPoly_LightColors", LightColors);
				Shader.Set("lowPoly_Texture", Texture.Unit);
				
				Texture.Bind(); // Texture doesn't have to be "unbound;" refer to documentation
				
				Mesh.Render(); // Render the mesh
				
				Shader.Unbind();
				Framebuffer.Unbind();
				
				using (Bitmap b = Framebuffer.Texture.GetBitmap())
				{
					b.Save("Render.png");
				}
			}
		}
	}
}

I can provide the fragment shader used in the above code, though:

#define LOWPOLY_MAXIMUMLIGHTS 8

varying vec3 lowPoly_Position, lowPoly_Normal;

uniform vec3 lowPoly_Lights[LOWPOLY_MAXIMUMLIGHTS], lowPoly_LightColors[LOWPOLY_MAXIMUMLIGHTS];
uniform int lowPoly_CurrentLights;
uniform sampler2D lowPoly_Texture;

void main()
{
	float intensity, factor;
	vec4 finalColor, lightColor, textureColor;
	
	float highestIntensity = 0.0;
	int highestIntensityPosition = 0;
	
	factor = 0.50;
	
	for (int i = 0; i < lowPoly_CurrentLights; i++)
	{
		intensity = dot(normalize(lowPoly_Lights[i] - lowPoly_Position), normalize(lowPoly_Normal));
					
		if (highestIntensity < intensity)
		{
			highestIntensity = intensity;
			highestIntensityPosition = i;
		}
	}
					
	if (highestIntensity > 0.90)
		factor = 1.0;
	else if (highestIntensity > 0.65)
		factor = 0.75;
	else
		factor = 0.50;
	
	textureColor = texture2D(lowPoly_Texture, gl_TexCoord[0].st);
	finalColor = vec4(textureColor.rgb * lowPoly_LightColors[highestIntensityPosition] * factor, textureColor.a);
	
	gl_FragColor = finalColor;
}

Though I do have projects I've worked on before, such as Fixel. They're still "WIP," but there's not much to show for them, either. Hmm.

I've started probably 20-30x more projects than I've finished. I think there's a mental disorder for that...perhaps a phobia of finished work? No idea, anyway...

ozXHe7P.png


#20
sees_all1
[ Display Name History ]

sees_all1

    Ice Giant Melter

  • Members
  • 4,961 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Joined:26 June 2007
  • RuneScape Status:None



I've scrapped the AI because my teacher added another requirement. When the winning conditions are met, the winning combination's symbols on the board need to spin. I have no idea how to approach this. Any suggestions?


Are you using a loop to implement the game, or is it just click/event based?
If its a game loop, that's rather trivial, if its click / event based, good luck.
Let me know.


A mousedown event in Rectangle objects that triggers a case switch depending on which rectangle the click is in and whose turn it is.

The winning conditions check is a giant loop

I don't have the code on my home computer or else I'd post some of it.



There's many tutorials online for rotating images.
One suggestion - When you determine there is a winner, ignore all mouse events for a bit. In your loop, redraw the winning patterns. Use an AffineTransform on a Graphics2D in your draw method. Add in some delays and increment your angle.

99 dungeoneering achieved, thanks to everyone that celebrated with me!

 

♪♪ Don't interrupt me as I struggle to complete this thought
Have some respect for someone more forgetful than yourself ♪♪

♪♪ And I'm not done
And I won't be till my head falls off ♪♪





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users