The death of making money by skilling.

Lugia_Lvl138

In the beginning of RS, long before I played, skills were THE way to make money. I've read stories of how Bluerose13x, the first to 99 Smithing sold Rune 2hs for 1m each(100m+ by our standards today probably). Now let's fast forward to mid-late 2005 when I started playing. I made my money mostly by skills doing some combat on the side. By early-mid 2006 my main moneymakers were Barrows and Runecrafting. As I leveled my Runecrafting higher and higher, I dreamed of 91, where I could make a guaranteed 1m an hour, incredible money at the time. I also did more and more combat, getting 85 Slayer at level 112 January 2007.

My first 99 was Fletching, achieved at total level 1837, after getting 85 Mining in order to alch in the Heros Guild. Now for June 2007, I read behind the scenes and learn that Dark Bows are coming. I instantly start training Slayer like crazy to get my 88 Slayer to 90 before the update. I succeed, and end up getting 5 Dark Bow drops. Those drops, along with a solo D Chain from KQ, allowed me to buy 99 Prayer(D Bones ran about 1.3k ea). After getting 99 Prayer, I decided to chase level 126 via Slayer, since I had already knocked out the hardest part.