Bringing Closure To This All?

xevanx

Lately I have been extremely reminiscent of my past ten and a half years amongst the internet. I understand that this thread might not be for all people, however, I think it could potentially open up some discussion which would ultimately help me out.

Now as I turn older everyday I find myself looking back and wondering what exactly I have accomplished throughout my childhood and the opportunities that I have missed. While I am in thought, I have always come back to the same recurring thought about writing a book about my life. Although I am only 18, I feel as though I was robbed of some of the greatest moments in my life by the introduction of the internet.

My whole plan of this book is to tell and explain my life since the first time I started playing games online, and the interactions with communities I have met throughout my time online. It sound's boring, but I plan to do this to bring awareness to hopefully kids in communities just like this about what I have missed in life due to my interactions online. I just really feel that in order to rid myself of the addictiveness and lingering thoughts in my head this needs to be done. For example, I am extremely socially awkward in some situations that occur in real life. I know that being addicted to online games and community while I was young, I completely missed out on important social activities. I am ashamed of myself about it, but I am completely capable and 100x better in social encounters online and engineering people socially that it frightens me. Over time consuming my life into various topics online, I feel as though I have been desensitized and demoralized in real life by some of the things people are openly exposed to on a regular basis.