How do you study?

warri0r45

Whether it's for uni or school, what's your preferred method of studying?

I've recently got into the habit of going over lecture notes and typing key points/important parts into a word file. I then print these notes out a few weeks before the end of semester test so I can go over them again. Some of the benefits I find in this method is that I go over the material at least twice (once in class and once when typing it out again), and I can also spend time to grapple with parts I might not be able to understand and type them up in my own words.

What about you guys? Perhaps we can all get something out of this.

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I look up key terms of the subject I'm studying on the internet, preferably Wikipedia since it has lots and lots of useful information. I find that it's easier for something to stick with me if I take the initiative to personally look it up on my own rather than trying to go by the textbooks or the teacher's notes.

I don't. :P

Seriously though, most of my courses for my major don't really require a lot of studying due to being more performance based (art classes and the like). When I do study I usually just read something over with some low music (like Sun O))) or something) playing in the background.

I take notes from the textbook on blank computer paper. I write down key definitions and circle them but with boxes. Write down the examples with them. All handwritten. Before an exam, I read through them for an hour. Then review quickly before the test. What I lack is to get information from lectures. I find them quite useless.

gr454rc.gif

I probably need to start though. :lol:

I will say though I take a ton of notes, which helps a lot more than just reading over a printed out notes sheet I think.

I probably need to start though. :lol:

I will say though I take a ton of notes, which helps a lot more than just reading over a printed out notes sheet I think.