Help With A Really Strict Parent

Deathmath

I'm a freshman in high school, have never been to a sleepover, can't be out past 6:00, get yelled at for a B, and because of this can't play rs, and have to use a 7 yr old computer.

Yeah...

Plus i'm two years ahead in maths, and am taking a college level C++ programming class.

Is this overbearing or not. Also others post what they think is overbearing, and what is the difference between being overbearing and caring

~Deathmath.

Note this may seem like a sympathy trap, but I am generally interested if this is normal or not, and what others have to deal with.

Thoroughly retired, may still write now and again

• Replies 162
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

can't be out past 6:00

Yeah that's overbearing... In other words you get up, go to school, get back to your house, and do hw then sleep?

I couldn't live like that... The world isn't all about work and money. It's about fun! Why else would you want to live?

1288581197250-1.jpg

My point exactly. I said I'm not having any fun like this. They said, well, if you don't do well in school you'll eat it later. I said plenty of people with blue collar jobs have fun, I don't need to be a CEO. (And don't get me wrong, I am trying to do that ;O)

yeah thats pretty overbearing

on the grades thing, anytime they attempt to lecture you for grades go on a giant speech about the level of demand your classes are and ask them to solve the hardest math problem you can give them. That type of thing got me off the hook, my parents just trust me to deal with my own grades now(still going to be top 1% but at least im not insane about straight a's)

If your in calculus or pre calc just ask them for help with it one day and laugh when they go :ohnoes:

awteno.jpg

Orthodoxy is unconciousness

the only ones who should kill are those who are prepared to be killed.