Oh how I miss you BTS...

rhupajiva

Its the first weekday of the month....

This usually means waking up to read a brand new edition of Behind the Scenes.

When I woke up this morning and didn't see it on the front page, I came to the realization that I am not a fan of Jagex's new policy of only doing Development Diaries.

I'm sure this policy will have its perks...But the BTS has been around since the month I started playing (April/May 2005). It gave structure to my Runescape playing. I eagerly anticipated several of the updates it described. They were also often cleverly written and quite enjoyable to read...

Remember "sitting on chairs"?

I understand that Jagex wants to avoid being beholden to the BTS and avoid the inundation of threads from professional comlainers ("Wheres my UPDATE JAGEX??? I HATE THIS GAME I QUIT) when an update didn't come out in an expected week.

But I think not having the BTS will eliminate some of the great anticipatory theorizing that immediately followed their publication. A wait and see time frame isn't really that fun.

Maybe even be super vague like the chaos elemental anagrams...

What are your thoughts on this?

rhupajiva.png

• Replies 143
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Yeah I was looking forward to having something to read this morning but alas there was nothing :(

I don't mind if its really basic or really cryptic but I like seeing new posts by Jagex, it shows they are working.

612d9da508.png

Mercifull.png

Mercifull <3 Suzi

"We don't want players to be able to buy their way to success in RuneScape. If we let players start doing this, it devalues RuneScape for others. We feel your status in real-life shouldn't affect your ability to be successful in RuneScape" Jagex 01/04/01 - 02/03/12

Smart move to shut the constant complainers up. But as are you, I'm disappointed. They always made me a little happy knowing if there'll be an update here or there to polish up some things.